The refrigerator:  what a marvelous, modern convenience.  The keeper of cold foods…and also, occasionally,  a science project in progress!  I’m talking about that unidentifiable casserole/cake/who-knows-what that’s lurking on the back shelf.  You guessed it, I cleaned mine today.  It’s was frightening.  There are certain odors you just don’t ever want to recall.  Ever.

Here’s a little poem I wrote to mark this momentous occasion:

It’s Time To Clean The Fridge

I think it’s time to clean the fridge
And here’s how I can tell:
The fuzzy clumps of rotting fruit,
That putrid, horrid smell!

I think it’s time to clean the fridge
Indeed, I can’t deny
Half-empty jars, the smudge, the smear;
They all assault the eye

I think it’s time to clean the fridge
Just peek inside the door,
Now grab a bag, some bleach, a rag
Behold! It’s clean, once more!

Kimberly W.