The Angelic Salutation or Hail Mary contains a wealth of theology in one very short, yet thoroughly biblical prayer. It is the prayer I most frequently offer throughout the day. An ambulance passes the house…we pause and offer a quick Hail Mary for the potential victim of illness or injury. While knitting an article of clothing, I frequently “knit in” a Hail Mary or two for the recipient. As I stand at the kitchen sink, it is the most comforting prayer as I undertake a task that our own dear Mother must have performed many times in service of the Holy Family. It is the first prayer that all of my dear children learned to lisp along with the family during evening prayer and the Holy Rosary.

Here are a few interesting links providing new insight and information regarding this lovely prayer:

The Hail Mary in pictures

Hail Mary in many different languages

St. Thomas Aquinas instructs us on the Hail Mary

Ave Maria lyrics

Children Learn To Pray: The Hail Mary