Today marks the one year anniversary of Catholic Family Vignettes! What an exciting year it’s been! With just under 40,000 visitors this first year, I’m delighted to make the acquaintance of so many new friends.

It amazes me how new the blog world still feels…until this time last year, I’d never even visited a blog, let alone thought of creating one. My adventure in blogging began after a long term knitting injury. Lacking a creative outlet, I discovered that typing at the computer wasn’t nearly as painful as knitting and other handwork, and thus inspired, took up writing. While conducting a bit of online research I read a blog post for the first time. I don’t remember the writer, but quickly discovered that this creative medium was available to anyone, and better yet, was absolutely free! A couple of keystrokes later, and I joined the blogosphere and wrote my very first post!

Initially the blog served to keep family and friends up to date on the constantly entertaining and occasionally wacky happenings in our happy home. It didn’t take long, however, to discover other moms who were doing the same. They have become unseen friends, my morning “reads” before I prepare for the day. The lovely women I’ve met do much to make the internet a kinder, gentler place. Prayers, devotion, encouragement, recipes, crafts, jokes, joys, sorrows and faith…these are the gifts that are daily brought forth from their desire to reach out to other mothers, much as our mothers and grandmothers would await the daily mail, or even the friendly chat across the fence. There are few opportunities for fellowship, these days. Many women have left home for the workplace and no longer have time for the “neighborly visit.” So the creative efforts of a few Catholic moms help to create a sense of community for those who have little or no opportunity to share faith, family and fellowship.

I truly enjoy blogging. It has been an adventure and a tremendous learning experience. A few people have asked if blogging is time consuming. Like all hobbies, it’s as time consuming as you allow it to be. Balance is the key, as well as keeping priorities in line. Perhaps the most important admonition would be the reminder that this blog is just a snippet of my life. Real life is much bigger and better than any blog could ever be. It exists much like a photo album…you can pick it up, thumb through it, skip pages if you wish and it will always be here when you come back to it.

I thank you all, gentle readers, for sharing this year with me. Your kind comments and encouraging words are accepted with gratitude and I sincerely hope that you have found a bit of encouragement, humor and friendship when you’ve had the time to visit.

Thanks for a great year!