Daybook entries every Monday, per The Simple Woman’s instructions…here’s today:

FOR TODAY May 19, 2008:

Outside my window the clouds are speeding across the sky in swift succession. The sun peeks out, occasionally, as birds chirp merrily on this very windy, very chilly Monday afternoon.

I am thinking about cutting out the pattern pieces for the girls’ nightgowns. I’m also trying to decide what to fix for dinner, having not planned this evening’s meal.

I am thankful for being able to attend the Latin Mass this morning. Seeing so many little one’s present, or, to quote Father: “I believe today’s average Mass attendee’s is approximately four years old!”

From the kitchen: slices of honeydew melon and cantaloupe sitting in a plastic bag on the the counter. Pots and pans, sadly neglected…brainstorm! Tonight: Hug In A Bowl! You must try it…it’s delicious!

I am wearing the same denim dress I had on Saturday. Yes, I washed it! Hair hanging straight down, wide black headband holding back the bangs I’m trying desperately to grow out, tights (yes…it’s that chilly!) and brown mary-jane crocs.

I am creating the same pumpkin/russet wool handknit socks in a pattern called “little shells.”

I am going to drink a cup of Chocolate Mint tea (thanks Sandra!) as soon as I finish this post!

I am reading Kristin Lavransdatter…I’ll be reading this one for a long time, Confessions of a Happily Organized Family and looking for a good bread recipe in The Secrets of Jesuit Breadmaking.

I am hoping that my husband will return home from work while there’s still daylight.

I am hearing the back door opening and closing, the gentle breathing of my teenage son who fell asleep on my bed, the conversation of the the three children who are watching Black Beauty in the livingroom.

Around the house: things are very much out of place. Today was filled with the morning Mass and a visit from another homeschool family. Much desired interruptions!

One of my favorite things: attending Mass during the week. We are blessed to have two weekday Latin Masses…I’m going as often as possible!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week: Gardening, sewing, knitting and homeschooling.

Here is picture thought I am sharing:


The irises are blooming!

Want to read a few other entries? Check here.