From The Simple Woman’s Daybook:

FOR TODAY – June 23rd, 2008

Outside my Window…sunrise.  A chorus of birdsong.  The extremely cool, nearly cold morning air is creeping through the window, past the lace curtains beside my desk.

I am thinking…about how wonderfully the gardens are growing.  Though this year’s planting was quite late, the harvest promises to be abundant…

I am thankful for…the time I was able to spend with Elizabeth after the birth of baby Ben.  For his continued improvement.  For the many phone calls that we’ve shared over the past few days. And, for a full night’s rest last night…the first since Grandma arrived nearly three weeks ago.

From the kitchen…hot coffee with Chocolate Carmel creamer, whole wheat toast with strawberry jam, an egg and ham bagel for my dear husband.  Perhaps Grandma would like a coddled egg this morning…

I am creating…a very tiny pair of North Country Baby Socks in a lovely variegated yarn in shades of blue, cream and tan…

I am going…attempt to restore some sense of order to my home.  A couple days of sickness, coupled with a trip out of town and Grandma’s care equal a great deal of chaos.   My dear husband did a tremendous amount of laundry to ease my burdens…he even folded and hung most of it.  The rest remains in various piles in a variety of laundry bins and is overtaking my bedroom.  Must…put…laundry…away…

I am wearing…a tan and white striped rugby-style dress, hair hanging down with bangs clipped back, socks on my very cold feet, looking longingly at my warm bed…

I am reading…very little.  The occasional excerpt from a book or magazine this week.  I haven’t even had time to read to the children…

I am hoping…this week will prove to be less stressful than last week.

I am hearing…the soft hum of the window fan (why is that thing on?!!  It’s freezing!) The morning song of many birds…

Around the house…laundry to be put away, a dishwasher to unload, children to hug, many blessings for which I’m thankful…

One of my favorite thingssoft-boiled eggs.  In a pretty egg cup.  Served with “soldiers”.   Breakfast, anyone?

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…I’m trying to plan very little, just taking it day by day.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

My three new egg coddlers…a sweet gift from my mom and dad given during their recent visit!