Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – June 30th, 2008

Outside my Window…A light misty rain is falling, the air chilly and damp. A few blackbirds are angrily crowing in the tree beside the cornfield…

I am thinking…about my sewing machine. It’s been neglected. Patterns and fabric are beckoning, and yet I have no time to sew. Every moment of every day is filled. Perhaps in a couple weeks…

I am thankful for…the use of my legs, my hands, my mind. How I take these things for granted! Watching Grandma’s struggle to recall what month or day it is, brings it all home…

From the kitchen…hot coffee with Tiramisu creamer, whole wheat toast with strawberry preserves. Lunch will be yesterday’s leftover chicken salad on potato bread. Dinner…hmmm…pork roast smothered in herbes de provence with rosemary/garlic potatoes and homemade coleslaw.

I am creating…I have no time to create. Just a pile of unfinished projects. I’m putting them all away…

I am going…to clean house today. There’s so much that’s left undone from last week. This has been a tough week…

I am wearing…a pale yellow linen Eddie Bauer dress with a pink cotton sweater. It’s quite chilly and overcast today…

I am reading…nothing. No time.

I am hoping…that the doctor will find a solution for Grandma’s nighttime agitation. Last night was particularly bad. I was up with her every hour from midnight until 7:00 a.m. this morning. Her memory seems worse as a result. Please pray for us…

I am hearing…the hum of the computer, the low voices of the children discussing a movie with Grandma and the soft falling rain…

Around the house…laundry to fold, rooms to clean…

One of my favorite thingsmy new scapular. It’s pretty nifty…

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…a family picnic or barbecue for the 4th of July. My dear husband will probably take the children to Red, White and Boom. Perhaps Grandma and I will be able to see a few fireworks from the backyard…

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

The daylilies growing wild beside the cornfield…