Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – August 4, 2008

Outside my Window…sunrise.  A soft breeze stirs the curtains, the damp and cool morning air is chilling my toes!

I am thinking…about my dear son, traveling the furthest he’s ever been away from home.  About how much fun we had at this weekend’s Irish Festival

I am thankful for…the peace of soul that I’ve desperately needed for the past several weeks.  For the gentle lessons that our Lord so lovingly teaches…

From the kitchen…piping hot coffee with plenty of Sweet Italian Cream.  Toasted English muffins with blackberry preserves.  For dinner:  Marinated and grilled chicken breast, rosemary and garlic potatoes, fresh green beans sauteed in olive oil with garlic, onions and thyme and herb bread.

I am creating…I’m seriously considering finishing the girls’ nightgowns today…I may actually have time to do so…

I am going…to pick another two rows of green beans today.  I preserved 16 quarts this weekend…time to do some more!

I am wearing…paisley capris, a long sleeved blue t-shirt, barefoot, hair pushed back with a headband.

I am reading…actually re-reading The Story Of The Trapp Family Singers…a lovely look at living the liturgical year…

I am hoping…Arthur has a lovely time in Nebraska and Kansas City.

I am hearing…a loud chorus of songbirds…each seeking prominence in this morning’s performance.

Around the house…green beans and cabbage to pick.  Hurry up, tomatoes!!  A good bit of tidying to accomplish…

One of my favorite things…being up in the morning before everyone else.  It’s so very peaceful…a nice time for sorting out the days activities, writing a post, morning devotions…

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…Sending in the completed annual assessment tests (hurray!), helping the boys clean their room (eeeek!), enjoying the soon-to-be extremely cool weather at the end of the week…

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you…

Our neighbor’s sunflower field, just up the road a bit…a delight to behold!