Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – August 11, 2008

Outside my Window…a chilly afternoon.  Corn rustling in the morning breeze, wispy white clouds racing across a blue sky, beautiful!

I am thinking…about the upcoming school year.  Glad that we don’t start until the Tuesday after Labor Day.  I’m not quite prepared for this year…still need to order a few books!!

I am thankful for…a delightful visit with Fr. John Zuhlsdorf.  Excited about the prospect of his visit to Columbus…

From the kitchen…this morning Galahad prepared eggs in a frame for his Grandfather.  Mom and I had hot coffee with bagels and cream cheese.  This afternoon…pizza?  Dinner:  Roast chicken with every veggie I can glean from the garden:  italian cabbage and roma tomato salad, herbed green beans, grilled zucchini (left over from last night!) and watermelon.

I am creating…school schedules and a book list…

I am going…to enjoy this glorious day, thanking God that Mom and Dad are safely on the road, bringing Grandma back to Kentucky and a new facility that will continue to help her on the road to recovery.

I am wearing…khaki capris and ballet flats.  Brown surplice long-sleeved blouse and a black headband, hair hanging straight down…

I am reading…rereading The Greek Way by Edith Hamilton…

I am hoping…the tomatoes ripen soon.  We’ve enjoyed the romas, but I’m most anxious for the Brandywine to ripen.  One of them is the size of a cantaloupe!

I am hearing…the occasional ring of the windchimes, the sound of the movie the little ones are watching in the family room…

Around the house…not too bad…laundry to be done as always and a little tidying.  The lawn is half-mown.  Perhaps the hubby will finish this evening…

One of my favorite things…70 degree weather in August!!  YIPEEE!!!!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…finish school plans, organize bookshelves in the classroom, rest…

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you…


A wall of corn, intertwined with morning glories…simply morning-glorious!