Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – August 18, 2008

Outside my Window…dewy droplets glistening on the spider webs scattered amongst the leaves of grass. No wind, a chilly 63 degrees and bright sunshine. Odd…not one bird is singing…perhaps the cat is on the prowl…

I am thinking…about my vocation as wife and mother. How to improve. How to love more, how to better manage distractions…it’s an unending battle…

I am thankful for…my Church. For my family of faith. What an amazing and eclectic group of people! Sharing laughter and tears, the noisy-yet-joyful voices of children filling in the blanks as we engage in weekly (and sometimes more!) conversation on any number of exciting and engaging topics in the fellowship hall following Mass. Moving from table to table, always feeling welcome. Seeing the surprised and excited faces of new parishioners as they discuss the beauty of the ancient liturgy and their delight at finding such a group of kindred souls. Having the firm and loving guidance of the most delightful priest. One who embodies “father” in every essential way…Watching our men step surely and firmly into positions of leadership, knowing this has been the tradition since time immemorial, and feeling more feminine, having more trust and surrender, being more receptive to God’s promptings as a result.

From the kitchen…hot coffee, warm bagels, cold cantaloupe. Supper this evening: leftover grilled pork loin (pineapple teriyaki and southwest jalapeno), fire roasted corn off the cob, watermelon, brandywine tomato salad. Chocolate cake and ice cream for dessert.

I am creating…school schedule. Didn’t finish last week.

I am going…to work on decluttering. The master bedroom is hardly a haven at present. Definitely more of a graveyard…

I am wearing…flannel pj’s emblazoned with coffee cups that say “I need my coffee!” Yes…it’s that chilly…flannel pj’s and hot coffee…

I am readingConfessions of a Happily Organized Family

I am hoping…my parents have a wonderful time on their vacation to the mountains.

I am hearing…the humming of little Emily, who has climbed into my bed…

Around the house…bouquets of sunflowers. I’m so happy we planted so many varieties!

One of my favorite thingsautumn! It’s just around the corner…pumpkins and mums, gourds and corn shocks, changing leaves and sweaters, cider and fall festivals…

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…decluttering, preparing for the upcoming school year, picking and preserving tomatoes.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you…

The sunflower grotto continues to provide a great deal of joy (and a lot of fresh, cut flowers!) for the entire family…