At the age of eighteen, like many young people, I registered to vote.  A small card filled out, an “X” to designate my chosen party (Republican) and, presto!  a nifty new card identifying me as a registered voter.  That small card represented a milestone in my life; a step towards adulthood and civic responsibility.

And so I voted.  Every single election.    In the past, it was easy.  A straight down the line vote for the Republican party.  My conservative views and pro-life stance were always well represented by my party of choice.  Voting was easy.   I have a guilty confession to make…I’m really not very political.  Though I’ve always appreciated having the right to vote and have always exercised it,  I never campaigned for a candidate nor did I ever, ever watch the Conventions nor the debates.  I identified with my chosen party and had confidence that my vote mattered.  It was all so simple…

Then things changed.  All of sudden the lines blurred.  It became more difficult to distinguish between the parties.  The black and white became tinged with so many shades of gray, making it harder to choose.  Sometimes it became necessary to step out of the GOP and look at the Independents.

This year’s election and the problematic choices being offered to voters presented a nightmare scenario:  a liberal Republican, a death-dealing Democrat and several pro-life Independents with no measurable public support.

The 2008 voting season upon us, I had decided that I would not vote.  That I could not vote.  Not even Independent.  The only choice seemed not too choose.  Please…don’t lecture me about how my non-vote would equal a vote for the opposition.  I understand.  This non-vote would have been a first, a real protest and the only one that I felt I had the power to exercise.

Last week, Republican nominee, Senator John McCain, chose Governor Sarah Palin as his running mate.

The tables turned.  Why?  I’m not a feminist.  Quite frankly, I’m really not that comfortable with the idea of women taking on traditionally male roles.

But I’m thrilled and I say “Go Sarah!”…not because she is a woman.  Not because she’s some kind of beauty queen, baby making, superwoman, gun-toting, hockey mom.

I’m thrilled because the Republican nominee could have chosen anyone else.  He could’ve stuck with the status quo, doing the politically correct thing by choosing a running mate who would have swung the pro-choice vote his way, one who would’ve brought those on-the-fence Democrats, to the other side.

He didn’t do it.

Instead, he chose a rabidly pro-life, pro-family, Christian mom of five to lead beside him.  This unifying act, so quickly and concisely demonstrated for this voter that Sen. McCain isn’t trying to please himself or please a party.  He has drawn a line in the sand, once again affirming the values long espoused by the Republican party.  He realizes that the blurring of party lines has divided the party, caused scandal and dissension.  By choosing Sarah Palin, Sen. McCain has once again affirmed what separates the two parties:  life vs. death.

I’m not just voting for Sen. John McCain, the war hero. Even though I respect him, admire the service he’s offered our country, and believe he would make a far superior Commander in Chief than his unworthy opponent, Barrack Obama.  There’s more to it.  And  I’m not voting for Sen. John McCain, the man.  Yes, he’s a devoted husband and father, who seems to have a good deal of compassion and common sense.

I’m voting for Sen. John McCain and Gov. Sarah Palin, the Republicans. My party has regained it’s identity.  It is embracing life once again and that has made all the difference.