Curly Locks

Curly Locks, Curly Locks,
Will you be mine?
You shall not wash dishes,
Nor feed the swine,
But sit on a cushion
And sew a fine seam,
And sup upon strawberries,
Sugar, and cream.

Ah, how I loved that nursery rhyme when I was a little girl!  “You shall not wash dishes” seemed such a fair promise for a young maiden.

My little girls, on the other hand, nearly engaged in hand-to-hand combat for the privilege of washing the last few plates in the sink.

Two little girls…both wanting to wash dishes…

Yes…wanting to wash dishes.  Obviously, neither of these children are over the age of twelve or the argument would’ve been entirely different!  Each had a turn soaping and scrubbing the same five or six plates, over and over and over again.  Our dishes have never been so clean…

I think I’ll keep these photos on hand as a reminder of more cooperative times.  If only I had the same enthusiasm now that the dishwasher is no more…