Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – September 29, 2008

Outside my Window…pitch dark.  It’s 5:41 a.m.  No wind, no birds…just silence.

I am thinking…about the busyness of today’s schedule.  We had so much wanted to attend the McCain-Palin rally at Capital University this morning, but the conflict with Mass required that we prioritize our schedule.  So we’ll attend  Mass this morning to celebrate the Feast of St. Michael the Archangel, have a celebration brunch following to kick-off our school year (I do believe this is the latest we’ve ever started!) and preparations for this evening’s celebration.  We may have to forgo the bonfire…we’re surrounded by 85 acres of extremely dry corn.  Perhaps the grill will be a safer bet…or we could prepare a firepit for a much smaller blaze…

I am thankful for…yesterday’s hike.  I was such a grump.  Shortly after Mass I became obsessed with getting everything in order for our first day of school.  There’s definitely a reason the Lord gave us the Sabbath as a day of rest!  A couple hours later I came to my senses, abandoned the tedium and took off for the woods with my dear husband and children.  What a glorious day and how much more joyful were we all when we sat down to dinner that evening tired from the long hike, yet refreshed.

From the kitchen…a Michaelmas brunch after Mass.  Waffles (St. Michael’s Guafres), eggs, sausage and monkey bread.  Dinner this evening:  roasted mallard breast in an orange sauce, rice, spiced pears, and Irish Bannock and salad.

In our school room…a new school year begins!  High school for Arthur, Jr. High for Gawain.  Six students this year and all of the challenges that entail educating so many at once!  Pray for me, dear friends…the first couple of weeks are always a bit stressful…

I am creating…nearly finished with our Alphabet of Saints, just three more to go.  I’ve been so delighted with this project that I’ve decided to make several additions to our alphabet.  All of our name saints and a few of our personal patrons!  Today I’m adding St. Michael the Archangel.  It’s his feast day, after all!

I am going…the fix a pot of espresso in just a couple minutes!

I am wearing…a long cotton nightgown, my coziest wool wrap and socks.  It’s c-c-c-c-cold!

I am reading…school books and lesson plans!

I am hoping…my parent’s will be able to visit in October.  They were coming last week, but had to change plans…

I am hearing…the hum of the computer and not much else.

Around the house…much to tidy, fold, put away, etc.

One of my favorite things…the month of October.  I love it!  The wonderful feast days, the exquisite weather, changing trees and the cool, crisp days.  I come to life in October…

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…re-establishing the rhythm of the school day.  This break has been way, way too long…

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

Yesterday’s hike along the Sycamore Plains Trail…

Cradled in the arms of a majestic giant:

Gawain took this shot of his sister. Another photographer in the family? Could be!

Another lovely picture taken by Gawain:

The perfect resting spot!

Have a blessed week!