Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – October 6, 2008

Outside my Window…rosy-tinged morning sky, crispy-brown cornstalks rustling in the early morning breeze, silence upstairs.  Shhhh…the children are still sleeping…

I am thinking…about today’s plans.  How much more prepared I am after last week’s trials…

I am thankful for…a lovely weekend.  For nature programs offered by our local conservation officers, for cool days and chilly nights, for the dancing flames of Saturday night’s bonfire, for the sticky goodness of roasted marshmallows, for the company of good friends…

From the kitchen…espresso with Creme Brulee creamer for mom, chocolate chip pancakes for the children.  Tonight’s menu:  roast chicken, mashed potatoes, pan-fried corn, greenbeans and homemade bread.

In our school room…much more order.  A well-planned day.  After last week’s blessed realization, I pulled my self up out of the puddle of self-pity had I created and am delighted to have not only a better attitude, but a better plan.  Thanks be to God…

I am creating…hmm…finishing up those leg-warmers.  Had fun making a lot of these sweet little paper creations.  Clear-coated the remaining Alphabet of Saints.  Need to knit a new pumpkin hat for Charlotte.  Emily has hers, but Charlotte’s is missing…

I am going…to take a walk to the woods today.  We’re starting new nature journals and will observe the changes that are taking place with the new season…

I am wearing…brown tights, clogs, a brown micro-suede skirt, sage turtleneck and burnt-orange sweater.  I look a lot like a pumpkin…

I am reading…nothing.  Nil.  Nada.

I am hoping…that my dear friend and her family recover soon from the illness that has plagued them for the past couple of weeks.  Prayers for you all, dear friend!

I am hearing…The tap, tap, tapping of the keyboard.  Silence reigns upstairs…yesterday’s trip to the creek really tired the children.  Peace…is…good!

Around the house…Not too bad.  Dishes washed, laundry not too terrifying, bedrooms in fair order, finally finished picking up the branches all over the yard.  Need to put the rocking chairs back on the front porch…they’re still beside the remains of Saturday evening’s bonfire…

One of my favorite things…doting on my children when they’re sick/injured.  Gawain and Charlotte were so sad yesterday when they weren’t able to go to the creek with Daddy and their siblings.  Nonetheless, it was fun finding ways to distract them and they were able to show the others that staying home with mom isn’t necessarily a bad thing!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…ohhh…I just want to revel in the fall temperatures, observing the changes in my favorite season.  I’m thinking about taking that glider flight this Saturday and then hunting for fossils at Caesar Creek.  I hope the weather holds out.  An arial view of the fall foliage?  Sweet!

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

Too much thyme on my hands! This sweet, little birdhouse gourd was growing wild in my compost pile…a nice surprise: