Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – October 20, 2008

Outside my Window…sunrise.  Brilliant hues of violet, indigo and rose with bright splashes of salmon pink.  Jack Frost has traced a lacy pattern on all the leaves and grass.  The morning glories are no more…

I am thinking…that it is quite cold in my bedroom!  Thank heavens for flannel jammies and socks!

I am thankful for…so many things.  For being able to give worship, praise and adoration to God in the Traditional Latin Mass and seeing nearly every available seat filled.  Holy Communion took longer than ever…praise God!  I’m thankful for yesterday’s birthday brunch and Charlotte’s delight over the “gnome home” so lovingly created for her by mommy and her brothers.  For the beautiful hike at Darby Creek and being able to revel in the splendor of falling leaves.  I’m thankful for acorns…acorns remind me of children.  So much possibility locked in such a small package, needing just the right conditions to reach magnificent heights!

From the kitchen…bacon and eggs for dad, espresso with Sweet Italian Cream for mom, pancakes for the kiddies.  Dinner:  BBQ pork in the slow cooker, potatoes au gratin and green beans and baby carrots.

In our school room…school is going very well.  Week 4, and we’re still on track, praise God!  We’re still having such fun with our science program, so much so that we are now doing science every day and have yet to tackle history.  The decision:  complete the science program then onto history!  Normally, I alternate days between the two subjects.  We’re having too much fun with botany!  Today we’ll assemble the leaves, acorns, seed pods, etc. that we gathered on our walk to the woods and glue them to our leaf collection pages in our nature notebooks.  It should be quite enjoyable classifying and labeling them!

I am creating…oh my…I have so many ideas now!  The gnome home has truly inspired me to create an entire village of forest people.  The boys are formulating ideas for additional furnishings, etc.  This is such fun!

I am going…to make pancakes as soon as I finish this post!

I am wearing…pink flannel pj’s emblazoned with red coffee cups and socks.  Brrrrrr…it’s very chilly this morning!

I am reading…listening, actually, with the children to the audio version of C.S. Lewis’ The Screwtape Letters.  Very, very funny…

I am hoping…to finish school early today.  Need to prepare the house for the workers who will be coming to put in new windows…

I am hearing…the thud, thud, thud of my boys and girls awaking and the soft padding of footsteps as the first arrival comes down the stairs.  It’s Gawain…

Around the house…fairly tidy, though a considerable amount of laundry.  Lots of falling leaves outside…

One of my favorite things…my pink flannel pjs…decidedly funky and totally “me…”

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…stay on track with school, a fun post-birthday treasure hunt with friends on Wednesday, continue praying the nightly rosary for all our friends and family.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

A new path at Darby Creek…there’s always something new, some unexplored area:

My crew…they hate group photos!!  This is the only one in which someone isn’t making a face!

Emily in her pumpkin hat…we found Charlotte’s, by the way!!

Yes…Gawain is actually standing in that frigid water!  Much to the consternation of his siblings who didn’t wear their crocs!

Emily and Gareth step gingerly, trying to avoid soaking their shoes…wait!  Where’s that boy’s shoes?! Gareth!!!