So…

I’ve so much I want to say, so much on my heart at this moment…

I considered writing about my shame as an Ohioan…watching my fellow citizens do the unconscionable…

I considered writing about the children’s reaction as they watched the polls close and the initial tallies…watching their excitement fade as the evening wore on, sending them to bed with promises that “all will be well, sleep and don’t worry…”

I considered writing about the impotence of anger, how the “enemy” uses it to control us…

But I went to sleep instead.  I slept well and having slept well my thoughts are a bit clearer, hope rushing in, crushing the feelings of despair and defeat.

The cause of my hope, my joy?  I have a God and Saviour and He has heard the prayers of His people.  I didn’t have to elect Him.  He will not be suppressed or manipulated.  He is not impotent, but Omnipotent.

Friends, let us not be guilty of the same mistake that the others have made.  They wanted to elect a savior.  They are looking for someone to fix the things that are broken, not counting the cost that we will all incur by the choice they’ve made.

What did we pray for?  This family prayed for the protection of life, from conception until its natural end.  We prayed for the preservation of the family and the traditional definition of marriage as affirmed by centuries of tradition.  We prayed that our country would continue to be “one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all…”

God doesn’t need John McCain to work His plan.  We want a bandaid, an aspirin, in other words, a quick fix for a problem that needs the skill of a Divine Surgeon.  It’s going to be painful and it’s going to leave a scar, but it’s the only way we can be healed.  We must believe that our prayers have been heard.  That the cries of the slaughtered innocent have been and will continue to be heard.  We must be willing to continue bravely on…not in mourning, not wearing sackcloth and ash, but moving forward with determination and good cheer as the martyrs of old did.

Onward, christian soldiers!  Wipe your tears, dust of your clothes and head back into the battle.  Continue the fight, never ceasing to pray for the conversion of our country’s leaders.  Your prayers have been heard and the scalpel of the Divine Surgeon is poised…

Are you ready?