Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – November 10, 2008

Outside my Window…nearly noon.  Overcast and gray, 35 degrees and it feels like 28.  Most of the trees are barren, the last few leaves have been whisked away by the brisk November wind…

I am thinking…that I feel considerably better than I did last night and this morning.  On the heels of scarlet fever, we’re now fighting a stomach bug.  Charlotte and Mommy are the latest victims, though I seemed to have suffered far less than she.  Charlotte is still feeling quite ill and I’m beginning to despair that we’ll ever leave this house…

I am thankful for…my husband who was awakened at 4:00 a.m. to take Clementine to work, woke up at 7:00 a.m. and connecting with his work computer, began working at home.  At 8:30 he left to pick up Clementine, came home, fixed pancakes, taught math lessons for four children and accomplished a bit more work.  By 10:30 a.m., he went outside into the freezing cold, replaced a brake cylinder on Clem’s car and changed a tire…can you say Super Dad?  Super Husband?  I can and will…

From the kitchen…whatever dad’s fixing.  I was going to make my positively scrumptious meatloaf today, but it’s not sounding so very scrumptious anymore…

In our school room…We gave up on school last week.  Sickness is once again rearing its ugly head, but those who can are persevering.  Thanks to dad…

I am creating…nothing.  I don’t even feel like knitting…

I am going…to take it easy today, or at least easier.  No mom ever really gets to take it easy…

I am wearing…tan microsuede pants, cream turtleneck and a dark green cable-knit sweater.

I am reading…nothing.

I am hoping…that today passes quickly.  That I continue to feel better and that the remaining children are spared…

I am hearing…the hum of the computer, cabinet doors opening in the pantry and Charlotte asking if I’ll draw her bath…

Around the house…not too horrifying.  Laundry is manageable.  Upstairs needs to be cleaned.  Lots of little things need to be done…

One of my favorite things…good health.

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…no plans.  We’ll see how we fair through this illness…

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

My favorite picture this week…the smile that was hidden inside of the tree in our front yard: