Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – November 17, 2008

Outside my Window…snow, softly falling in the gathering light of day.  The trees are lightly dusted and the grass is slowly disappearing beneath a white blanket.  I can’t wait to hear the delighted squeals of the children!

I am thinking…about my friends.  How much I’ve missed everyone during this time of sickness and quarantine.  Attending Mass yesterday was the equivalent of taking a long drink of fresh, cool water after weeks in the desert.  Refreshment for body and soul…

I am thankful for…see above.  Actually, I’m thankful for everything.  Yes…even the time of illness.  You never really appreciate being well until you watch your family suffer for weeks…

From the kitchen…biscotti and hot coffee for mom, sausage-egg-cheese bagele for dad, oatmeal and eggs for the kiddies.  For dinner:  tonight is definitely a soup night!  Ribollita made from the remnants of last night’s ham, homemade breadsticks and caramelized apples.

In our school room…back to business as usual.  I feel really off schedule, but, hey…it’s alright.  Perseverance is the name of the game, so today…we do what we can, for as long as we can.

I am creating…I’m knitting constantly!  I’ve finished a pair of legwarmers, a nifty pair of fingerless mittens which Charlotte adores, nearly finished a lovely knit doll (pattern here) and am working on an alpaca hat to match Emily’s legwarmers.  I’ve been knitting roses and crocheting flowers for embellishing hats and gloves…the creative juices are flowing…

I am going…to try to pray more, worry less.  Everyday, God continues to show me how well He has ordered all things…if only I could trust more, have greater faith.  I have faith, I just want a bigger, bolder faith.  That’s a scary request…

I am wearing…my favorite pink and red coffee cup flannel pjs.  And socks.

I am reading…too busy knitting!  Though I have been picking up the Bible quite often this week.  I’m ashamed to say my scripture reading has suffered of late and like St. Augustine, I’m hearing that persistent Voice…“Take and read, take and read…”

I am hoping…to finish school and chores early.  My dear friend, Krislynne and her sweet daughter, are coming for a visit.  We haven’t visited with them in weeks…

I am hearing…silence.  The low hum of the computer and the tapping of the keyboard.  The children will be down soon…

Around the house…laundry, as always.  Dishes, as always.  Love, laughter and memories in the making…as always.

One of my favorite things…snow.  I love, love, love snow.  I dream about snow all the time.  And it’s snowing.  I grew up in Florida and the whitest stuff I saw throughout my childhood was sand.  Thirty years of living north of the panhandle, and I still can’t get enough of it.  It makes me very, very, very, happy!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…head to Kentucky for a few days to celebrate Thanksgiving with family, finalize our Advent preparations, and enjoy the blessing of good health!

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

A walk to the woods on a cold, November day.  A lovely way to spend the Sabbath, as a family: