Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – December 1, 2008

Outside my Window…a slate gray sky, full of the promise of morning snow.  Windy and cold…

I am thinking…about the Holy Season of Advent.  Finding time to be still and wait can be a challenge as we approach Christmas…

I am thankful for…food in my pantry, an oven that works (thanks to the efforts of father and son!), a house filled with the noise and laughter of healthy children, a hard-working and loving husband, good friends, too much laundry (isn’t abundance wonderful?) and the resourcefulness to accomplish an ever-growing list of chores…and my adult children, Clementine, Jane and Elizabeth.  They don’t get much press, but I love them dearly and praise God that they are in my life.  I love you so very much, my “big girls…”

From the kitchen…hot coffee and Buckeye Bites…mmm…not exactly nutritious, but definitely yummy!  Dad had his traditional egg, ham, and cheese bagel.  The children are eating cereal and eggs.  Dinner?  I’m looking for a recipe using andouille sausage…perhaps this one.  Any other suggestions?

In our school room…we didn’t get much done last week, even though we took a few of our schoolbooks with us to Grandma’s.  The holidays are tough…there are so many wonderful craft ideas, books, movies, community and Church activities…does anyone else struggle with “getting school done” during this time?  I’ve been homeschooling for 12 years and it’s the same every year.  Perhaps we should just take off the month of December!!

I am creating…I finished knitting two capes, a poncho and a hooded scarf for my four grandgirls.  I’m working on socks, hats and a number of other unmentionable projects.  The creative juices are flowing and thus far no sign of any knitting injuries!!  Pray for my dear friend, Sandra.  She was injured this weekend on the frontlines of the Christmas knitting season, God bless her!!  She’s working on learning to knit Continentally in the hopes that she’ll have less pain…what a trooper!

I am going…to stay home!!!  And wait for the snow!!!  And decorate my mantel!!!   And work on a few crafts with the kids!!!  And pray that we can fix the dryer…yep…it’s broken!

I am wearing…tan micro-suede slacks, a cream turtle neck and the most beautiful handknit heathery-mauve sweater…a gift from my mother-in-law on Thanksgiving Day.  I’ve been coveting this sweater for years!

I am readingThe Dolorous Passion Of Our Lord.  I’ve had this book for years, but only ever make it halfway through.  Heartrending and heartbreaking…a reminder of what our dear Lord was born for.  Lord…make me ever mindful of Your Sacrifice!

I am hoping…to cultivate peace…slowing down interiorly…

I am hearing…my children, who’ve now gathered round me at the computer…must type faster!!!

Around the house…suitcases to unpack (just a couple), tidying, decorating…watching and waiting…

One of my favorite things…holly.  Grandma Beckie’s tree is cram-packed with holly berries this year.  Beautiful!!  She sent me home with a bagful of holly…I promply “decked” the halls and the Advent Wreath with theses lovely boughs!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…see above!!

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

A few pictures from our visit with Grandma Beckie and our Advent Wreath…God bless!!