Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – December 15, 2008

Outside my Window…trees shivering in the cold December wind.  The sky, lead gray and full of rain, a sharp contrast to yesterday morning’s glorious view

I am thinking…that it’s not so very cold this morning.  Mostly just chilly…

I am thankful for…MY DRYER!!  Thanking God for the “way and means” to fix this much needed appliance.  Nearly three weeks without clean clothes.  My new resolution:  try desperately to never complain about how much washing and drying I’ve yet to do.  I’m thanking God for an abundance of clothing and a functional laundry room…

From the kitchen….hot espresso with Chocolate Carmel creamer.  Dad has the usual.  Mom ate the last one of these gooey goodies.  Eggs and/or cereal for the kinder.  Tonight:  Something with leftover turkey.  Perhaps a tortilla soup…

In our school room…school of a different sort.  We call it Christmas 101.  There’s a final coming up in the next week and a half.  I hope they’ve studied!!

I am creating…I’ve been a real knit-wit lately!!  Knit socks, scarves, sewing with knit fabric…you name it, I’m trying to fashion it into some kind of gift…

I am going…to wash, wash, wash and dry, dry, dry lots of laundry.  Yipppeeee!

I am wearing…white corduroys, white turtleneck, pink baby-cable sweater, pink slippers, hair up in a twist.

I am readingIntroduction To The Devout Life by St. Francis de Sales.  I should say re-reading.  This is a favorite…I love the way he addresses the reader as Philothea…lover of God…

I am hoping…it’s a secret.  Would you pray for a private intention?  Thanks!

I am hearing…mostly silence.  Bits and pieces of NPR News from the radio in the kitchen.  None of the children are awake…

Around the house…much crafting to do.  The house is fairly tidy.  Laundry is put away, but there’s more to come.  No Christmas Tree yet…

One of my favorite things…same as last week.  My dryer.  How glad I am to have it back!!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…look for a Christmas Tree.  Continue our Christmas reading.  We’re enjoying the Little House Christmas Treasury.  Bake gingerbread men.  Prayerfully wait for the coming of our Savior…

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

The beauty of the Gaudete Sunday morning sky…astonishing.  Standing barefoot in my cold and windy backyard, it felt like an early Christmas gift.

Have a blessed week!