Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – December 22, 2008

Outside my Window…sub-zero windchills and a blue sky, deceptively lovely…this sunny day hides well the deadly cold of last evening…

I am thinking…God, Father…have mercy upon the homeless and those without shelter during this bitterly cold weather…

I am thankful for…a roof over my head, food in the fridge and freezer, and for the generous gift of propane which will be delivered tomorrow by an anonymous donor…may God bless you!!

From the kitchen….something simple this evening.  Hamburgers, I think.  Hubby has to work the late shift, so the kiddies and I will dine together, watch Christmas movies and eat fudge…

In our school room…school’s out!  The children passed “Christmas 101” with flying colors…

I am creating…knitting, baking, sewing…need I say more?

I am going…to make sure those boys aren’t out riding that mini-bike for too much longer!!  A generous gift from our beloved Hilaire, they took it for the first test drive yesterday and its hardly been idle since…except for the brief period this morning when the windchill was -25.  It just didn’t seem like a good idea to let them ride it…

I am wearing…tan micro-suede slacks, pink turtleneck and pink sweatshirt, fuzzy lambswool socks…it’s freezing in here!  It was 45 degrees in my bedroom this morning…that’s cccccooooollllld!

I am reading…lots of Christmas books and stories to the children…that’s about it!

I am hoping…that this bitter cold passes soon…

I am hearing…the distant whirr of the mini-bike engine, the delighted whoops and hollars from the boys, laughter from the little girls…

Around the house…oh, it’s festive!  The Christmas tree was just decorated this morning…it’s lovely.  The mantle has a fresh layer of greenery and everything smells so piney and fresh.  You just can’t beat a live tree!

One of my favorite things…watching my children decorate the Christmas tree.  You can’t imagine how many times one ornament is placed and re-placed until it’s put in just the right spot…

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…celebrate Christmas!!  The coming of our Saviour!!  We’ll attend the midnight Mass, this year offered by an FSSP priest at Sacred Heart Church.  My four boys will be serving…it’s sweet to see the four cassocks and surplices hanging together in my closet.  Will attend either the 8:00 or 9:00 a.m. Mass on Christmas Day and spend the rest of the day relaxing…feasting…enjoying one another’s company…

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

This morning’s decorating party:

Have a blessed week!