Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – January 5, 2009

Outside my Window…Frigid, yet beautifully sunny!  After all-day fog yesterday, the sun is a welcome sight…

I am thinking…that I feel significantly better than I did yesterday…and today is my birthday!!

I am thankful for…my husband!  Recovering from a horrific infection, he’s been washing laundry, and last night prepared the most wonderful veal parmagiana for his sick family.  This morning he served me coffee in bed…

From the kitchen….looks like a cold cereal morning.  I’m still feeling a bit weak, with hopes of improving throughout the day.  Perhaps some kind of soup for dinner.  I think I’m going to forgo the birthday cake and set up a banana split/sundae bar instead.  Much simpler than baking…

In our school room…well…today was supposed to be our first full day back.  I don’t think that’s happening.  Five of the seven children at home are not feeling well, though most are feeling significantly better than yesterday…

I am creating…my new Verilux lamp has so improved the entire knitting experience…I’ve been more productive than ever!  In the past week I’ve knit a cable hat and mittens, two pairs of socks, a scarf and am currently working/writing my own pattern for a child’s cabled mittens.  Oh yes…another pair of socks and a hooded scarf are in the works…

I am going…sick or not, to the Blessing of the Epiphany Water and Salt…I’d pretty much have to be dead to miss it!  Tomorrow:  King Cake and an Epiphany Blessing in celebration of the Traditional Feast of Epiphany.

I am wearing…flannel jammies.  I will get dressed.  Sometime.  Certainly before this evening’s service!

I am reading…I keep going back to Introduction to the Devout Life.  So much to reflect on…

I am hoping…that this quickly passing illness is completely gone by tomorrow.  I’m longing to get back to school and life as usual…

I am hearing…my little ones awakening.  Sweet voices saying “Happy Birthday, mommy!”

Around the house…Messy, messy, messy…Mom’s been sick.  Need I say more?

One of my favorite things…my husband bringing me coffee in bed!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…getting everyone well and getting back to school…

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you…a video with lovely images of Our Lord’s Nativity and Epiphany:

Have a blessed week!