Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – January 19, 2009

Outside my Window…stars shining in the night sky…the cold, hard glint of moonlight upon snow.  Single digit temps…balmy compared to a few days ago…

I am thinking…that it’s been many days since I’ve sat at the computer.  Not an entirely bad thing.  I’ve been very, very busy.  In a good way!

I am thankful for…the end to the arctic freeze.  The temperature is now comfortable enough for the children to play in the snow.  Today’s high:  18

From the kitchen….remnants of this evening’s meal:  Rachel Ray’s recipe for Chili Cheeseburger Mac (the kids loved it!),  salad, sliced oranges and mint-chip brownies.

In our school room…we took the day off.  Played in the snow and mom learned how (or re-learned, I might add!) to crochet.

I am creating…since I’ve finally unlocked the crochet mystery, I’ve been crocheting like mad!  I’ve crocheted (boy, does it seem weird to use that word…I’m so used to saying “knit!”) two dollie capes, two dollie dresses, a dollie purse and scarf.  I’m still knitting, but the crocheting seems to relax my hands.  No carpal tunnel issues!  The dollie clothes are all my own designs and were quite simple to make.  Today, I learned to half-double, double and treble crochet.  I can’t believe how much quicker it is than knitting…

I am going…to take a long, hot bath after I finish this post…

I am wearing…pin-striped trousers and a cable wool sweater.  Hair hanging straight down, only a slight trace of the day’s make-up remains…

I am reading…still working on Donna’s book.  So much to digest.  And still, still, still and always will be reading and re-reading Introduction to the Devout Life.  Food for the soul…

I am hoping…to get caught up on the laundry.  All this play in the snow has left piles of wet things in my laundry room.  Ugh!

I am hearing…the sounds of my men as they watch and comment on an old war flick…The Hunters

Around the house…I really need to consider spring cleaning…two months early!  Things are so disorganized!

One of my favorite things…my Dyson Ball Vacuum.  May I wax rhapsodic for a moment?  I’m going to sound like a walking/talking advertisement:  This machine is beyond amazing!  After one use the color of my carpet changed!  It removes dirt and dust that is so micro-fine, it’s unbelievable.  And easy to use!  My children argue over who’s going to vacuum.  No argument…Mom will!  Once again…a great big thank you to our Christmas Elf!  I’ve never owned a truly excellent vacuum cleaner and no mother has received such a practical gift as gratefully…my highest recommendations for this one!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…enjoy the snow!  Looks like we have more coming.  We already have a good 7 – 8 inches on the ground, with drifts around the barn that are nearly 18 inches deep.  And icicles!  Today, Gareth brought in the largest one I’ve seen this season:  over 3 feet long.  We’ll continue to plug away at school.  I wish I could say that a bit more joyfully, but right now it’s time to get down to business.  We’re making real progress in so many areas, but I’m still in a quandary over what to do with the high school student.  He really seems to need something with more structure.  Pray for us?  Thanks!

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

My beginning crochet efforts: Danielle and Emma sporting their new gowns and capes.  Charlotte and Emily were so delighted!

Have a blessed week!