How beautiful are the prayers of the faithful…

With trust and humility, united in common purpose, the voices of God’s people rise to the vault of heaven like incense…

How it pleases God when we join one another, particularly to lift up one of our brothers or sisters who are in need…

I come to you with a most urgent need!   A young woman most desperately needs your prayers.

Several years ago, a beautiful young woman named Melissa, who has always lived her life for God, decided to give it, wholly and completely, in the service of religious life.  She entered the convent.  But God’s ways are mysterious and it wasn’t long before she had to fight for survival.  Doctors discovered a brain tumor and Melissa, with great reluctance, had to leave the convent to take up the cross of physical suffering.  Through God’s grace and infinite mercy she prevailed, and returned to her home, which she lovingly states is very much like a convent.  Her family lives much as the Holy Family did.  In loving service of one another, with great faith, humility and simplicity.

A seven year respite and now, another tumor.  This one is seemingly inoperable and the many suggested treatments are all highly dangerous and potentially fatal.  Melissa’s faith is so very strong and she trusts God so implicitly, but is struggling to discern which options she should pursue.  One of those options is, of course, doing nothing…

I’d like to share a little excerpt from one of her letters to give you a sense of who she is:

What I’ve suffered in my lifetime is a drop in the bucket and how dare I complain or be unappreciative of all God has given me. He could have made me suffer even more and given me an even heavier cross to carry, like so many others have been given. We can sometimes become so self-centered and think we have it bad when we have it so good. We can look at others and think how easy they have it and the actually carry a hidden cross so heavy we would collapse under it. I try to keep all things in perspective and know that God has fitted the crosses He sends, perfectly for me. However, in my weakness, I do become discourage and weary of the battle. All I long for is to be called Home. So many people want to fight and try every experimental procedure to “save their life”. This isn’t me. This world offers nothing worth “fighting for.” The only fight worth fighting for is the one that leads to our heavenly Home.

I could include many more quotes, much in the same spirit.  She is precious and is humbling submitting herself to whatever God wills for her, be it life or death.

Amazingly enough, I’ve never met Melissa in person.  This blog has been our means of “introduction.”  Melissa had read a post I’d written regarding my frustration over having no glitter glue (a humorous lament in which I admitted coveting another woman’s craft closet!)   She wrote me to tell me she was cleaning out her craft closet and asked if I’d be willing to receive a box of supplies.  I said “yes” and a couple weeks later on the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, the children gleefully dove into a 35 lb. box of every kind of craft item you can imagine.  Not just crafts…sweet little prayer books, instructions, examples and pictures of our generous friend’s family.  It was precious…

I haven’t even managed to post about it, though I did take a few pictures, which I’m sure will tickle Melissa:

So my friends…

I humbly beseech you to send this prayer request to every friend you have.  Every priest and religious.  Anyone you know who would be willing to lift up this young woman in prayer!  How pleased our Heavenly Father will be when we all beg Him to help our sister, to sustain her and grant her every grace during this time of suffering!

Once again:

~For where there are two or three gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.~ Matthew 18:20

Blessings,