Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – February 9, 2009

Outside my Window…Snow, melted and re-frozen.  Hoary frost covering every surface, glinting brilliantly in the bright morning sky.  The promise of a glorious day…

I am thinking…how very tired I am.  No sleep last night.  The children are falling, one by one, to a very nasty virus.  Last night was Gareth’s turn.  The good news:  it seems short lived…God be praised!  Four down, three to go.  Not counting mom and dad.  Mom has an awful cold…

I am thankful for…my husband, who cooked every meal this weekend.  I was happy to be his “sous chef.”  I love cooking, but was just a wee bit burnt out.  He is so precious…he tries so hard to pick up the slack and does it without complaint.  He fixed the most amazing fajitas last night…better than any I’ve ever had in a restaurant.  Perhaps not the best choice for a family with the stomach bug, but those of us who could eat, enjoyed it immensely!

I’m also very thankful for a dear friend who lovingly reminds me everyday to say the St. Joseph Novena for our husbands.  As she says, “there’s nothing quite like accountability!”  I happily return the favor to her…

From the kitchen…a low-fat breakfast burrito for dad, bagel with “fruits of the forest” spread for mom, hot espresso for both.  For the children…gauging the state of tummies this morning, probably oatmeal for some, scrambled eggs for others, Sprite and crackers for Gareth.  Dinner:  Baked chicken, baked potatoes, green beans, sliced apples and caesar salad.  Cutting the fat…

In our school room…I’m so uninspired!  We’re just plodding through.  I think it’s the weather.  The temperatures have finally moderated, the snow is melting, but we’re drowning in a sea of mud!  I need to make a trip to the library…On a more positive note:  I had the boys’ Baptismal records forwarded to the parish, in preparation for their Confirmation in April.  Both have chosen sponsors, but only Gawain has chosen his patron:  St. Joseph.  A very worthy choice!

I am creating…I’m in the midst of crocheting an afghan like this one.  I love this!  Delightfully “retro” and like Kimberlee said, the children are taking great delight in watching the colors come to life…

I am going…to wash a lot of clothes today.

I am wearing…comfy flannel jammies, pink with red coffee cups scattered about.  Socks.  Hair hanging down.  My dear husband worked a bit from home and let me sleep in after last nights misery…

I am reading…just posted my review on The Domestic Church – Room by Room

I am hoping…that this virus makes it way through the house as quickly as possible!

I am hearingthis lovely song. As a mom with several “young fellas who handle the gun,” it has a very real warning behind it.  I made all the boys listen to it, asking them to imagine that Molly Ban was one of their little sisters.  Alison Krauss has the voice of an angel…this is one of my very favorites:

Around the house…Disorder!!  Laundry!!  Muddy footprints in the kitchen!  My vision is tuned to all those things that disturb me…I need to try to “see” what really matters.  Unfortuantely, I can’t see past the mess…

One of my favorite thingsthis conversation with my 12 yo son…astounding!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…getting the children well.  May God heal them and preserve those who haven’t yet fallen.  Especially Daddy.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

Images from St. Patrick’s Trivia Night.  What an interesting evening!  Here, a group of traditional Catholics discovered that we know very little at all about pop culture, sports and columbus, ohio.  We all agree that Catholic trivia is more our area of expertise.  A saving grace:  as parishioners of Holy Family, we were able to “slink” out the door and didn’t have to discuss our score after Mass on Sunday!

The cutest father and daughter, and my cute boy, Gawain:

The cutest lil’ couple…ever!

Our moderator, Mr. Patrick Madrid…he brought much laughter to the evening:

Have a blessed week!