We never eat out…

Well…practically never.

This evening the cupboards were practically bare and it was payday.  Calling my dear husband at work, I quickly outlined that I was quite open to suggestions for dinner.

He says: “What do you want?” (husband speak for “ah, man…I just wanted to come home to a hot meal and a peaceful night at home with the family”)

She says: “Oh, honey…I don’t care…we can do whatever” (wife speak for “read my mind…you know I want to take the children out for Chinese”)

The conversation ends with no firm plans.  Nonetheless, mom musters the troops, dressing the little girls as sweetly as possible, having the boys “change-out-of-those-muddy-pants-boots-put-that-gun-away-is-that-mud-on-your-ear?”

Mom puts on makeup.  Makeup, mind you!  And perfume…

6:00 p.m.  The familiar sound of tires crunching gravel, a whoop and hollar from the children as they race out to greet daddy…

Weeping, wailing and cries of agony when they see daddy carrying two large sacks full of fish, fries, hushpuppies and cole slaw.

“What on earth is wrong with them?  This is a fine “hello!”

Poor guy…certain he would be the hero, bringing home fast food, something we do maybe three times a year, only to be greeted with tears.   In fairness…only the three youngest were crying.  The big guys?  The sooner you give them food, the better!

And that my friends, is the best recent example I have for really opening up the doors and windows of communication!  We had a good laugh later, once the children dried their eyes and overcame the disappointment of dinner at home.  I accept all the blame for this one!  Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa…

Blessings,