How disheartening it is to see the “spiderwebs” emerging…you know the ones I’m talking about:

Big box stores with enormous displays of all the latest gadgets…it looks like Christmas, all over again.  Widescreen TV’s, digital cameras, toys, toys, toys.

Spiderwebs…set out by greedy merchants, most particularly to catch the poor…

It’s tax season, and for many of us this means the much-awaited refund check, and your local big-box store is readying its snares.

For most of us, this is a time of mixed blessings.  On the plus side:  school books, settling past due bills, long-neglected home maintenance, as well as a bit of breathing space between paychecks, are the reward for a year’s work…getting back what last year’s labor earned.  On the downside:  the wants.  Those little luxuries that most of us forgo throughout the year, are now within reach, and what a dilemma!  A new ipod?  Maybe a laptop?  Upgrade that digital camera?  The list goes on and on…

Now…I’m not suggesting that we shouldn’t indulge ourselves, from time to time.  My husband works so very hard for this family.  It gives him great pleasure to lavish his family with gifts, to do those things, on rare occasions, which some are able to offer more regularly.

But this year I’ve asked him if he would consider something different.  I don’t want stuff.  I have stuff.  We don’t really need more stuff!  Any pleasure given by a material good is fleeting.  Toys break, batteries die, new clothes soon look like old clothes…everything fades.

This year I’ve asked him for a memory.  Something that lasts.  I want to take the children somewhere they’ve never been, to see something they’ve never seen.  It can’t be far…our time is limited.  It can’t be horribly pricey…as I said, we have expenses to consider.  It’s been such a long time since we’ve been able to take a vacation…this is something smaller than a vacation, but in some ways, bigger.  Traveling with so many children is challenging and expensive…but I’m excited as we contemplate the possibilities!  Thus far, we’re leaning towards Niagara Falls…

Might I encourage you to consider a memory?  I’m giving up a new sofa and loveseat for this…I’d rather have three days of beautiful memories with the ones I love best, than spend the next two years screeching saying:

“AUUUGGGGHH!!!  What’s that on the sofa!!!”  “Quick somebody get a rag!!!!

Don’t get caught in the web…make a memory instead!

Blessings,