Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – February 16, 2009

Outside my Window…21 degrees, feels like 15.  Bright sunshine glinting on frosty windows.  The silhouette of skeletal branches against the blue sky…

I am thinking…that perhaps this virus is on it’s way out.  At least for me.  Poor little Emily is horribly feverish.  I’m praying that she’ll receive the same reprieve…

I am thankful for…the slanted rays of sunshine that illuminate my bedroom.  It makes everything seem much warmer than it is!

From the kitchen….deliciously hot espresso laced with Sweet Italian Cream and sprinkles of cinnamon.  Dad is having a healthier version of his normal breakfast.  Here’s how we’ve changed things, without sacrificing flavor:  the bagel has been switched to a tortilla…this cuts carbs and fat.  Eggs are scrambled, not fried.  Bacon, sausage or ham has been replaced with a small amount of finely chopped andouille sausage…far less fat, still get the protein and infinitely more flavor!  A slice of processed cheese has been replaced with half the amount of shredded sharp cheddar.  Once again, less fat more flavor…

Dinner?  I’m leaning toward our favorite soup…Ribollita and a nice crusty loaf of herbed Italian bread.  I really need to re-establish my weekly menu!

In our school room…still so very heartened by Galahad’s progress with dysgraphia…a not-so-small success!  Gareth is doing wonderfully with his multiplication and has moved up to a new reader in the American Cardinal series.  Arthur….Arthur.  I need a packaged curriculum.  Mercy…I can’t believe I’m actually saying that, though I suppose I’ve been saying it for the past month.  I’m so afraid I’m going to miss something with him and I feel we both need (but most especially him!) accountability from an outside source.  And Gawain?  The boy genius finishes all his school work by 9:00 a.m. every morning.  I think it’s time to move him up…he needs a challenge and I fear I’ve held him back, so as not to cause distress to his older brother.  That’s really not very fair, is it?

I am creating…making real progress on my first crocheted afghan.  I’m trying to crochet 6 to 8 inches per day.  I’m probably averaging more like 4.  It’s a lot of fun and not boring in the least!

I am goingto practice what I preach…or at least make a valiant effort…

I am wearing…blue jeans, cable-knit sweater and turtleneck, hair up in a twist, warm wooly socks…

I am readingMother Angelica’s Little Book of Life Lessons and Everyday Spirituality.  This has been sitting on my bookshelf for two years, unread.  !!!!!!!!!

I am hoping…that this virus has run it’s course.  If I can just get Emily past it…

I am hearing…the “ding” of the microwave…someone found the leftover pancakes!  The sounds of pages turning, as Gawain is finishing up his school work in my room…

Around the house…I’ve been working on a few “hot spots.”  But the mudroom…that’s no hot spot…it’s a raging forest fire!

One of my favorite things…St. Valentine’s Day.  We had the loveliest celebration. It’s days like these when I remember that I have the best job in the entire world!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…work out the plans for making a memory.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

Looking through old photos…my goodness, how they’ve grown!  Taken in our home in Kentucky roughly 5 years ago:

Have a blessed week!