Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – March 2, 2009

Outside my Window…Unbelievably cold.  Blue sky and bright sunshine belie the gusting wind and arctic chill.  Our pipes are frozen.  No water.  Not…a…drop.  Apparently, the blockage is in the line between the well head and the house.

I am thinking…about Father’s sermon on Ash Wednesday.  He spoke about the weather and St. Francis de Sale’s admonition that one of the ways we can begin to discern God’s Will is in little things…like the weather.  Accepting that current weather conditions are in accord with God’s Will helps us apply the same understanding to larger issues.  A good reminder while I’m lamenting the frozen pipes…God’s Will be done!

I am thankful for…the two gallons of water in the reverse osmosis tank!

From the kitchen…hubby is working at home this morning to assess the frozen pipe issue.  He brought me my favorite espresso, over-easy eggs, sausage and toast…in bed!  This evening:  probably leftover BBQ ribs, baked potatoes, corn and Caesar salad.

In our school room…I’m really having trouble getting back into the swing of things since all our illnesses.  Once again, I feel we’re just putting in our time and I want so much more for our homeschool.  Pray for us?

I am creating…still working on the now huge family afghan…pictures, soon!

I am going…to pray that hubby is able to solve the frozen pipe issue…I don’t think the weather is going to cooperate…temps are expected to remain well below freezing for the next couple days…

I am wearing…blue jeans, a pink turtleneck and navy fairisle cardigan.  Hair down…

I am reading…actually looking forward to reading He Leadeth Me by Fr. Walter Ciszek.

I am hoping…that we have running water soon.  There are many things we can live without…water isn’t one of them!

I am hearing…Charlotte and Arthur arguing over who needs to go to confession most…

Around the house…reminders of the Holy Season of Lent…and lots of tidying to do!

One of my favorite things…orchids.  Two of ours are blooming beside my kitchen sink…beauty in the midst of the mundane…

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…plans in the works for building our chicken coop!  We have four Buff Orpington chicks on the way, and they already have names:  Rosy, Penny, Buffy and Kelly.  Looking forward to farm fresh eggs in a few months!

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

Fasting Bread for Lent…as delicious as it is beautiful!

Have a blessed week!