Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – March 16, 2009

Outside my Window….dark and overcast, temperature a balmy 43!  Feels like spring this morning.  Yesterday’s weather was particularly beautiful, with mostly blue skies and a mild breeze.  Perfect weather to have a bonfire…and so we did!

I am thinking…that I’m so terribly behind in everything.  I think I’ve been sick for quite awhile.  I’ve ignored a lot of symptoms for a very long time and praise God that I finally went in for antibiotics.  Still not up to par…but feeling better than I have for the last several days…

I am thankful for…health insurance.  And Urgent Medical centers.  And antibiotics.  And a very, very, very, very, very insistent hubby!  Thanks, sweetie!  You were right…

From the kitchen…food?  Yuck!  Every time I eat, I feel sick.  Bleh.  Espresso, on the other hand, doesn’t seem to bother me.  So that’s what I’m having.  Kiddies aren’t up yet…I imagine eggs, toast and sweet italian sausage will be on the menu for them.  Dinner this evening?  I’m not sure…if Galahad’s cough is better, we’ll be attending a vigil Mass in honor of St. Patrick at St. Patrick’s Catholic Church in Columbus.  Torchlit procession and Irish Tea and Music to follow…

In our school room…I need help!  I’m truly foundering right now…I’m sure this infection and all the weeks of illness have much to do with it, but I just can’t get it together.  Hubby is doing what he can to help pick up the slack.  He’s taking over all of Arthur’s algebra lessons.  The father-son time will do both of them a lot of good, and will help alleviate a bit of my stress.  God bless all the moms out there who are educating more than six at home!  I’ve never had this many all at once and it is a challenge, to the extreme.  Kindergarten, 1st grade, 3rd, 5th, 7th and 9th…holy cow!  Am I really responsible for that many grade levels?!!  I need a maid and a tutor!!

I am creatingmade this on Friday.  I see quite a few more in the future.  The afghan will have to wait awhile…I’m going to work on Emily’s hat today.

I am going…to take a deep breath and try to sort through my day.  Looks like I may have to start living by my old schedule…the one I used when I started homeschooling more than 13 yrs. ago…

I am wearing…denim skirt, black and white sweater, ballet flats with pink bows (they’re so cute!)

I am readingGreat Yarns for the Close-knit Family.  Sweet patterns taken directly from children’s literature.  There’s a lovely navy cape I have my eye on…

I am hoping…that I can shake this malaise…

I am hearing…mostly silence.  Creaks and groanings of the floorboards…sounds like the children are waking…

Around the house…too, too, too, much to do…

One of my favorite things…standing barefoot in the grass hanging wash out to dry.  I actually did that this weekend…I have an enormous pile of line-dried laundry to prove it!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…establish a hardcore schedule and stick to it for 28 days…apparently that’s the magic number.  Continue with outdoor cleanup activities and tackle the laundry monster.  Read with my children.  Celebrate St. Patrick’s day using a few of these ideas and this.  Pray more, worry less…

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

The first bonfire of 2009!  Our dear friend Hilaire and Mr. Dan came for dinner.  Roasting marshmallows is a family favorite!

Have a blessed week!