To My Dear And Loving Husband

If ever two were one, then surely we.
If ever man were lov’d by wife, then thee.
If ever wife was happy in a man,
Compare with me, ye women, if you can.
I prize thy love more than whole Mines of gold
Or all the riches that the East doth hold.
My love is such that Rivers cannot quench,
Nor ought but love from thee give recompetence.
Thy love is such I can no way repay.
The heavens reward thee manifold, I pray.
Then while we live, in love let’s so persever
That when we live no more, we may live ever.

by Anne Bradstreet (1612 – 1672)

Happy Birthday, darling!

Today is my husband’s birthday.  Born on the first day of spring, the youngest child and only son in his family.  Can I tell you what an amazing man he is?

He’s an amazing cook.  From candy to barbeque, his culinary prowess is legendary!

He’s a computer whiz.  He can build and repair nearly any system, and currently is delving into the wonders of software programming and xhtml and sql and lot of other initials which astound me!

In nearly 28 years of marriage, we’ve only ever had a repairman twice.  He fixes every car, every appliance…there’s practically nothing beyond his ability.

He is a man of faith.  Everything is so simple for him.  Things I’ve struggled with, he accepts with such trust, such simplicity…oh, how I envy him!

He loves children.  Loves them, all of them, most especially babies.

He loves animals…all of them.  We would be operating a small zoo, were it at all practical. Thank heaven it’s not!

He is amazingly strong.  He carried a loaded deep freezer (not one of the small ones!) from the curb to the kitchen…alone!

He’s an incredible landscaper, gardener and yardman.  This was his specialty for many years.

He has operated nearly every kind of farm equipment imaginable.  Worked with horses and cattle and had the privilege of having a shirt ripped right off his back by the great Triple Crown winner, Secretariat.  Yep…he used to work for Claiborne Farms!

He is the hardest worker I’ve ever known.  There is nothing he wouldn’t do for his family.  His own personal comfort means nothing to him…he pours himself out in the service of the needs of his family…

He is an incredible friend.  Need furniture moved?  A computer repaired?  Need an ear, a strong shoulder?  He’s there…

He is generous.  Even when he has little, he’ll give all he has…

He is the father of nine children (plus one in heaven!).  Grandfather to five.  He adores them all…

He loves me. He loves his wife, as few men love theirs.  He’d rather be in my company, than anywhere else.  His love is sacrificial…he lives to serve the needs of his beloved, before his own.  He is the most loving person I’ve ever known.

He is my husband. Given to me by a very generous, very good God.  Far better than I deserve…he helped his young bride grow up…patiently bearing with my tantrums, always the voice of reason.

I’m sure I’ve probably embarrassed him a bit.  But it’s all true…

Yesterday, the children and I spent the day planning ways to honor our very own “St. Joseph.”  Little acts of loving kindness to remind him that he is King of his castle.  As his birthday falls on a Friday during Lent, we will be celebrating with a few friends on Saturday, but will still spend this evening reminding him of our love, respect and thankfulness that he’s at the helm of this ship!

Blessings,