Is there anyone, anyone at all, who wouldn’t benefit from the following admonitions from our beloved St. Francis de Sales?

“Do not wish to be anything but what you are, and try to be that perfectly.”

“Do not lose courage in considering your own imperfections.”

“Have patience with all things, but chiefly have patience with yourself.”

“Never be in a hurry; do everything quietly and in a calm spirit. Do not lose your inner peace for anything whatsoever, even if your whole world seems upset.”

“While I am busy with little things, I am not required to do greater things.”

Yes…I’m feeling pressured, stressed and need to be called back to simplicity.  I’d begun to imagine that this Lent was going rather poorly, due to my struggles.  I’ve come to realize that were it easy, were I experiencing consolation, then I’d be missing the whole point of “sacrifice.”  This Lent is hard…and so it should be.  I’m supposed to stretch, but the muscles and tendons are a bit creaky, and pain is inevitable.  I’m thankful for every grace, and am anxious for the coming Resurrection and Easter joy…

Here are this week’s small successes:

1.  Hand washed all my husband’s socks and other really grubby white laundry.  The part for the washer is still on backorder, though I hope we’ll receive it by tomorrow.  My hubby is such a wonderful man, and socks weren’t to be had for love or money, so I joyfully (yes…joyfully!) hand washed them.  He’s worth it!

2.  Took four loads of laundry to the laundromat.  While I happily hand washed hubby’s things, the sheer volume of stinky boy laundry was far too daunting to consider!  There is definitely something to be said for simultaneously washing four loads.  I’m thankful to have the use of my dryer and will spend the rest of the morning drying clothes.

3.  Took the children to the creek and turned them loose.  My boys really needed the freedom to explore God’s creation.  They filled themselves with it, and came home more than a little muddy…

Here are a couple pics:

Share your Small Success at Faith and Family Live!

Blessings,