Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – March 30, 2009

Outside my Window…Gathering light in the cloudless sky.  Frost and frigid temperatures should soon make way for a lovely, spring day.  Today’s temperature is expected to reach a balmy 52 degrees!

I am thinking…there are only a few short days left in our Lenten journey.  I fear I “packed” very poorly for this trip, thus the journey has been a rather difficult one.  Nonetheless, God provides for our insufficiencies…once again, my weakness is revealed and I remember this is a journey we were never meant to make alone…

I am thankful for…a day of rest.  The Sabbath is a true day of rest and respite from the cares of the world.  The Martin Family certainly knew the value of keeping the Sabbath holy, as evidenced by these quotes:

*From Sr. Celine Martin:

In this connection, I should like to draw attention particularly to the celebration of the feast which occurs each week: Sunday. My mother used to praise father for his strict observance of this holy day, attributing to it the prosperity of the family.

*A letter from Zelie Martin:

I have firm hope that this time of trial will not last. What gives me a confidence which nothing can diminish is especially the edifying manner with which you sanctify Sunday. All faithful observers of the Lord’s Day, perfect or imperfect, are blessed in their enterprises; in the end, in one way or another they become rich.”

Here is a delightful post on this subject.  Leila expresses herself with such eloquence…

From the kitchen…Piping hot espresso, scrambled eggs, sausage and toast.  Dinner:  hmmm…I need to resurrect my menu.  Just one more area where order has taken a backseat.  I’m leaning towards cheese-stuffed rigatoni with sweet italian sausage…yeah…that’ll work…

In our school room…The boys passed their Confirmation tests!!!  Arthur was a nervous wreck and could hardly sleep the night before.  He made a 109!  Gawain scored extremely well, though slightly lower than Arthur.  Now we wait and pray.  This Confirmation ceremony will be the first Traditional Confirmation in our Diocese in more than 40 years.  We’re not quite sure whom will confer the Sacrament.  Unfortunately, our dear Bishop is very ill and is undergoing emergency surgery to amputate the lower portion of his leg.  Please keep him in prayer!

I am creating…I’ve crocheted five summer hats for the girls:  two ecru, two “strawberries and cream,” and one in white.  Each hat still needs ribbons for embellishment and I need to crochet one more white hat.  The girls will wear the white ones for Easter.  Photos later!

I am going…to continue to work to restore order.  I think my family has gotten the message…we’re all in this together and mom has been bearing a far too large portion of the burden.  I love my family…

I am wearing…Blue jeans and a black and white sweater.  Hair in a pony tail.  Ready for work…

I am reading…just finished The Mother of the Little Flower by Sr. Celine Martin.  Exquisite…what a role model for Christian motherhood!  I fear I fall so short, at times…

I am hoping…to put together several more bags to take to the thrift store.  Tally thus far:  10…30 more to go!

I am hearing…the voice of my children…time to fix breakfast!

Around the house…a laundry machine that still isn’t fixed.  We’ve been waiting for the part for more than 2 weeks.  The mudroom is very, very scary!

One of my favorite things…clean laundry.  It will be long, long time before I complain about having to wash clothes, trust me!  As soon as that washer is fixed, I will spend many hours gleefully washing and drying clothes!

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…prepare for Holy Week.  Our Easter Cleaning will take place on the Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.  There’s much to be done…

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

Do you remember this post? Well…hubby cut a few slices of “the smile.”  I plan to hang one on my courtyard fence and give the other to my mom and dad.  We have a couple more…not sure what I’ll do with them…

Have a blessed week!