Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – May 25, 2009

Outside my Window…cloudy, with a brisk wind…not too bad considering the forecast called for thunderstorms today!

I am thinking…about this morning’s Solemn High Requiem Mass.  This was the first TLM held at Mt. Calvary Cemetery on Memorial Day in more than forty years.  The Mass was exquisite…Arthur served as Master of Ceremonies and given the circumstances (high winds, no pews and a hastily constructed high altar) all went beautifully.  Many of the attendees hadn’t seen a Traditional Mass in many, many years.  A dear gentleman, member of the VFW and dressed in full military regalia, introduced himself, thanked us for bringing our children and offered us a free Christmas tree in December (he owns a tree farm!)  God bless our brave men in uniform…

I am thankful for…good weather.  We’ve accomplished much in the garden.  While many of my southern friends are contemplating the harvest, we’re just getting down to the business of planting!  We missed a lot of the spring veggies…it’s just as well.  Our last hard freeze took place last week.

From the kitchen…mmm, mmm, good!  I butterflied three whole chickens, marinated them in my very own homemade marinade, and hubby has been smoking them all afternoon.  The aroma is maddening…children and kitties have been pawing at the grill!  On the side:  my very best Smashed Potato Salad, baked beans, dressed eggs and a very ripe, sweet-n-juicy watermelon.  Dinner’s at 7:00…c’mon over!

In our school room…prayers please?  I’ve been invited to speak at the Educating For Heaven Conference for High School.  I’m a bit nervous.

I am creating…I’ve been embroidering a little.  The little girls are intrigued and I can’t wait to teach them!

I am going…to finish this post and set the table;-D

I am wearing…lime green capris and a pale blue 3/4 sleeve knit tee, sandals and an apron…

I am reading…this and that…

I am hoping…that tomorrow’s conference is well attended and that the Holy Spirit guides my speech…

I am hearing…the sounds of the children playing in the sandbox.  Their laughter carried upon the wind to my open bedroom window…

Around the house…green things outside.  Lots growing, lots blooming.  I love spring…

One of my favorite things…Spring.  Gardening.  Iris and peony greeting me in the morning…

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…plug away at school, Galahad’s birthday tomorrow, another birthday party for Emily and Galahad together on Wednesday with our friends, order our assessment tests…it’s that magical, mystical time!

Here’s a picture thought I am sharing with you

Dragonflies always make me think of summer:

Have a blessed week!