Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – June 1, 2009

Outside my Window…bits of blue, with a wispy cloud or two.  Cool breeze and 60 degrees.  Today’s forecast high:  83 balmy degrees!

I am thinking…that the little girls would enjoy a visit to Ballantrae.  My sons are on their way to Lake Erie for a day of fishing on a charter boat with our dear friend and adopted uncle, Hilaire.  They left at 4:00 a.m. and will return sometime late this evening laden with fish…as many as 30 each.  At least they hope to.  That’s a lot of fish…

An interesting observation:  as much as I long for solitude and crave peace and quiet in the midst of my hectic days, I’m surprisingly at a loss when actually given that “gift.”  My boys are gone, and I feel strangely diminished by their absence.  The walk to the woods last night with the little girls was sweet, but in a melancholy sort of way.  One day, all too soon, I’ll have all the quiet moments I can stand.  The prospect isn’t as enticing as it used to be.  And now we know why God gives us grandchildren!

I am thankful for…my God who speaks to me so clearly in so many ways.  Would that I weren’t so stubborn and were a more obedient child, harkening to His continued, gentle promptings and consolations.

From the kitchen…hot coffee and cold cereal…a crunchy banana-nut granola.  Grilled balsamic chicken this evening.  Greenbeans sauteed with potatoes, olive oil and rosemary.  Salad with homemade dressing and a pan of ooey-gooey brownies.

In our school room…sigh…school.  Sigh…indecision.   Heavy sigh…the beautiful realization that this is my vocation and I’m feeling the weight of the cross right now because God wills it.  The clearest sign that we’re on the right path, no matter how rocky that path seems…

I am creating…things are a bit hard right now.  Writing isn’t flowing.  I continue to toy around with the idea of giving up the blog altogether at times.  Amazingly, hubby continues to insist that I keep up with my writing, but it all feels so strained.  Even putting together this post…

I am going…to pack lunch, towels and sunscreen for a fun afternoon playing in the water…

I am wearing…khaki capris, white tee, straw hat and sandals.  And grabbing my shades!

I am readingThe Imitation Of Christ.  Over.  And over.  And over again.  If you don’t own this book, run…don’t walk to your nearest Catholic bookstore.  My copy is so very old now…the entire thing is being held together by packing tape and prayer…

I am hoping…to finish the move upstairs.  Yep…hubby and I are taking Clementine’s old room.  The downstairs bedroom is being converted to an office/game room/music room.

I am hearing…the laughter of the little girls as they play with our kitten, Gracie.  She’s a lot of fun…

Around the house…pretty messy.  Ah, well…the best thing about a mess is the predictability.  I know what needs to be done, I just need to do it!

One of my favorite things…second, third and fourth chances.  And fifth.  And sixth.  And so on…no matter how many times we make a mistake, as long as we’re still alive there are plenty of opportunities to try to make it right…

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week…finish the bedroom “move.”  School.  Laundry.  Cleaning.  Oh, yes…and taking care of our new arrivals!!  The chicks are here…and they are adorable!

Here’s a picture thought I am sharing with you

Meet the ladies:  Penny, Rosy, Buffy, Kelly, Sarah and Molly:

Have a blessed week!