Summertime and the living is…

Busy!

I love summer. Love it. For those who know me well, those three words are simply astounding. Having grown up in Florida, I never cared much for the season with its hurricane warnings and humidity. I longed for cooler temperatures and well-defined seasons, and for the past 28 years I’ve had them. Living north of the panhandle, the beauty of Fall still captures my heart like nothing else, but Summer…ah, Summer! Sun and shade, wind and rain, a garden thriving, sunflowers reaching ever upward, trips to the creek, fireflies flitting in the gathering dusk and stars twinkling in the warm evening sky.

With the lengthening days and climbing temperatures, I find myself slowly…ever so slowly… relaxing. Tension is decreasing, my vision clearing and I’m approaching the days with a renewed sense of purpose.

There’s been such disquiet in my heart, for the past several months. A Dark Night Of The Soul, so to speak. Not one area was left unscathed, as our Lord, with great loving care, allowed me to spend a bit of time in the crucible. Burning away the dross, with hopes of revealing the pure gold of faith that is of incomparable worth. How tightly we cling to the Cross when its all we can see!

And I’m thankful for the lessons learned. Like a scolded child, I can now rest, quietly in arms of my Father, thanking Him for loving me so well, so perfectly…

Ah, Summer. As the days stretch on, I hope to hold on to each precious moment. Savoring the warmth and beauty in the time that is given.

God be praised for this wonderful season…

Blessings,