Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – September 28, 2009

Outside my Window….sun peeking past torn gray clouds, wind gusting at 40 mphs, leaves and limbs tossing madly in the midst of a windstorm.  Please, Lord…not like last year!

Thinking…about the day, the many chores not done this weekend due to bad weather and illness.  I did manage to cook every evening, make a yummy treat and crafted a blue fairy doll for the little girls to play with…they are quite taken with her…

Thankful for…the sunshine…we’ve had a lot of gray skies lately…

From the kitchen…English Breakfast Tea.  I HAVE NO COFFEE!!  HOW DID THIS HAPPEN??!!  Ah, well…I do enjoy a cup of tea, usually in the afternoon.  I’m such a creature of habit.  Breakfast this morning:  eggs, sausage and cheese sandwich for dad, cereal for the children, mom’s drinking tea and eating grapes…still feeling yucky.  Lots of leftover soups for lunch today.  Meatloaf, mash potatoes, buttered corn and salad.  How’s that for country cooking?  Can you say…cholesterol?  Mmmm…mmm…good!

Faith and learning…On our third week and maintaining momentum.  It all rests with me…I’ve always known that, but I’m really approaching school in a whole new way.  I’ve decided (finally!) to quit looking at it as yet another “chore” that must be “done.”  I’m ashamed to say, that I’ve been treating this wonderful privilege with the same disdain that I would give, say, cleaning the toilet.  Necessary, but not entirely pleasurable.

So…I’m giving school my heart.  I’ve decided to be as passionate a home educator, as I am a knitter.  Or baker.  Or crocheter.  Crafter.  You name it, I’m more than capable of pouring myself into anything that I truly enjoy…well, I’ve decided to enjoy school and it is making all the difference.

Enthusiasm is caught, not taught.  My children are catching the fever, though we still have the meltdowns and the stress, it’s alright.  This is how it works.  It’s hard, but it’s not the end of the world.  We get sick, we miss this or that, but it’s okay.  We  simply dust off, smile and get back to work and everyone’s happier…

May God grant that we maintain our fervor, that we keep our eyes on Him and perservere…

Creating…a gift for Charlotte’s birthday.  She so loved her Gnome Home…I think the Blue Fairy needs a suitable dwelling…have gourd, will decorate!

Planning…well, we had to cancel a playdate with friends today due to illness (sorry Julie!), but I’m hoping the windstorm will abate enough to allow us to have a family bonfire on Tuesday for the Feast of St. Michael…also known as Michaelmas.

Wearing…blue jeans, long sleeved tee, socks…hair in a twist…face terribly swollen.  Again.

Reading…text books, a storybook or two, knitting catalog…that’s about it.

Praying…for my children’s health.  Would you also join me in prayer for a young woman’s father?  Melissa is a regular reader and her dear dad has been hospitalized with angina.  He has an ongoing heart condition and could really use prayer right now.  Thanks!

Hearing…the clang of spoons on bowls.  Breakfast…

Around the house…the soy has turned from gold to amber, corn stalks from green to gold, leaves are taking on a rainbow of hues.  Zinnias continue in proliferation; morning glories, too.  Outside:  grass is clipped, air is crisp; inside:  laundry is piling up, walls need painting, carpet needs cleaning…can you tell I’ve been inside too much this weekend?  All the flaws seem to jump out at you when you find yourself stuck in the same room for a couple of days…

One of my favorite things…watching the wind toss the leaves and limbs of trees against a deeply blue sky…

Here’s a picture thought I am sharing with you

The wild tangle behind the barn looks like this from a distance:

But up close…this:

And this:

Blessings,