Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – October 19, 2009

Outside my Window….pink and orange band of light edging the deep blue sky…no clouds.  A soft wind and a balmy 32 degrees.  Today’s forecast?  58!!  Can you say “Indian Summer?”

Thinking…that I’ll make a Dr. appointment today.  Like I should have a few weeks ago…still dragging…

Thankful for…this week.  A week of preparations and celebrations.  Today we celebrate Charlotte’s 8th birthday.  I’m putting the finishing touches on her gift…I think she’ll like it.  Also, and much more importantly. preparing home and hearth for family who are arriving to celebrate Charlotte’s First Holy Communion this Sunday!   So exciting…it’s been many, many years since I’ve had a daughter receive our Lord for the first time.  A succession of four young knights…and now a princess!  Lovely…

From the kitchen…breakfast burrito for dad, soft-boiled eggs for the rest of us.  I think I’ll surprise the little girl’s with an impromptu tea party in honor of Charlotte’s birthday.  We had a lot of fun with the last one…dinner?  Charlotte’s choice…per tradition.  Birthday kids pick the evening meal…

Faith and learning…FALL BREAK!!  Yeehah!  Whoopee!  Yahoo!  Grands are coming…we’ll have a couple half days and then we are DONE FOR 8 (count ’em!) EIGHT DAYS!!!

Creating…still working on Charlotte’s veil…

Planning…a peaceful week with preparations for the weekend’s festivities…

Wearing…brown micro-suede skirt, pumpkin-y orange cable sweater, brown tights and clogs.  Hair up…

Reading…King of the Golden City to all the younger children.  Again…

Praying…that my girl will always remember this time…aren’t first sacraments wonderful?

Hearing…little Emily wish Charlotte a “Happy Birthday on your First Holy Communion!”  She was a bit disappointed to discover that Charlotte is not receiving First Holy Communion today, on her birthday!  It does seem the best possible gift…

Around the house…cleaning, cleaning, cleaning to accomplish.  And I have no energy.  Ah, well.  The Lord will provide for all my deficiencies.  Ah, I hear my six “provisions” right now!  Thank you, Lord, for helpful children!

One of my favorite things…a walk in the woods alone with my husband.  I actually had one yesterday.  For 15 minutes.  And then the children found us…

Here’s a picture thought I am sharing with you

Arthur’s “pet” mushroom, growing on the stump to which he attaches his grinder.  He took this shot:

Blessings,