The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.

James 5:16

As I’m by no means righteous, nor as effectual or fervent as I ought to be, I credit your prayers, dear friends, to the wonderful news I received this afternoon.

No cancer.  No lymphoma.

It appears I have an enlarged salivary gland most likely due to a virus (I’ve had at least three over the past two months!).  This gland should begin to decrease in size on its own and I’ll have a recheck in a few weeks to make sure.  I’m sure you can imagine my relief…it’s amazing the nasty little roads the mind can take one down, until faith steps in to right the course.  While I avoided fear for the most part, I became increasingly introspective and emotional.  I found myself wanting to stay closer to my husband and children, spoil them, stay home with them, all the while imagining the possibility of chemo and radiation…a road of pain and suffering that a few of you may have already been down.

So…

I’m praising God for sparing my dear husband and children.  And for sparing me.  The only suffering ahead at present is the fatigue and my rather odd appearance.  Ah, well…an odd lump in exchange for no cancer?  I’ll take it.  And pull the turtleneck up a little higher…vanity, you know?  Yeah…still not quite done with that one, but I’m working on it!

Blessings to you, my prayer warrior friends…praying for all of you at this evening’s Adoration hour,