Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – November 16, 2009

Outside my Window….a gray November morning, mild with a promise of rain.  Leaves have been composted, grass and trees are bare.  These spring-like temperatures have produced some unusual contrasts…pumpkins and roses.  I do love November!

Thinking…about this weekend and all its loveliness.  Elizabeth, Clementine and baby Ben made an impromptu visit.  As brief as it was, it’s amazing the memories one can make in such a short time.  Watching Ben chase the chickens, interact with a treasure trove of aunts and uncles was too precious for words.  A cookout and bonfire, hastily assembled, with friends and family was like a bit of heaven on earth.  And then Mass.  Eight of my nine children present…plus one grandchild.  Beautiful!!  God be praised for such a beautiful ending to a stressful week…

Thankful forthe answer to a fervent prayer…and…for YOU!  Thank you for praying!

From the kitchen…oatmeal for breakfast, leftover burgers for lunch.  Dinner?  Grilled chicken, herbed rice, Steamed mixed veggies and baked apples.

Faith and learning…buckling down.  Two weeks of school before our Advent break.  I’m really excited, but really wanting to get a bit more behind us.  I feel so blessed by what we’re accomplishing this year.  Pushing past fatigue and excuses, our days have been full and yet, we’ve managed to squeeze in plenty of fun and games.  This week, we’ll wrap up our studies on North American explorers and try to squeeze in a unit on the Pilgrims before Thanksgiving.  We’re continuing our Astronomy unit, including our lapbooks are making plans for crafts and activities for Advent/Christmas.

Creating…ah, the list is growing.  I’m praying the Advent break will afford me the necessary time to craft homemade gifts and such.  There are a myriad of projects that I’m working on as well as a few I want to begin…

Planning…Thanksgiving/Advent/Christmas…my plate is full!

Wearing…blue jeans, white turtleneck, pink baby-cable sweater and socks, hair up in a twist…

Reading…my only reading time (outside of children’s and text books) is at Adoration.   The Imitation of Christ is my personal favorite, and this weekend my sweet Galahad presented me with a lovely gift.  Our local Una Voce chapter has been hosting a bake and book sale all this month, and Galahad found a pocket-sized copy of The Imitation of Christ that slips neatly into my purse.  I wish you could’ve seen his face when I expressed my delight.  Priceless…

Praying…that my energy level will increase.  I need to improve my nutrition, activity level and start cutting back on caffeine.  Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow…I’m such a procrastinator when it comes to caring for myself!  Lord…please help me to just buckle down and do it!

Hearing…my children…

Around the house…a tidy yard, the remnants of this weekend’s bonfire, cackling hens and crowing roosters, a fairly tidy house, a ton of laundry and a momma who feels blessed beyond words with the order and the chaos…

One of my favorite things…a Sabbath nap.  I took a three hour nap yesterday, my sweet hubby answered the phone and took care of the children.  It…was…wonderful!

Here’s a picture thought I am sharing with you

Sweet Elizabeth, baby Ben and Grandma K

More pictures of the weekend, to come…

Blessings,