Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – November 30, 2009

Outside my Window….a heavy curtain of gray clouds shrouding the sun.  It’s time to take down our fall display, to put away pumpkins, to continue to live the spirit of Thanksgiving throughout this season of Wait…Advent has begun; Happy feast of St. Andrew!

Thinking…about joy.  I struggle throughout the season of Advent to keep joy, to nuture this illusive gift…illusive because I spend too much time analyzing, planning and doing.  Time to be still.  To wait…to hope, pray and not worry.  May Christ be born in my heart, every heart anew…may that day be today…

Thankful for…a Thanksgiving feast with family.  For the trip home with Clementine and all the children packed tightly into the van…for yesterday’s Mass and Father’s homily.  For kerosene heaters…brrr…it’s getting much colder!  I don’t miss air conditioning, but boy…I sure miss my old central heat system!  I never realize how much until we spend a few days at Grandma’s during colder weather…

From the kitchen…would you believe I’m roasting a turkey?  Yep…fully stuffed and in the oven for the past 4 hours.  Having Thanksgiving away from home means no leftovers and my children are very, very sad.  So…Thanksgiving all over again today!  The smell of roasting turkey is always delightful…

Faith and learning…SCHOOL’S OUT!  We worked hard for our break and will spend the next few weeks on Advent and Christmas crafts.  Arthur wishes to continue with his studies (can you believe it?  I love that kid!)  We’ll keep up with our reading but I’m so looking forward to a guilt-free break!

Creating…knit socks, and a homey-haven full of the sights, sounds and smells of the season.  There’s not much available for the purchase of gifts, but creative juices are flowing and we have a lot of ideas…

Planning…a going away party for dear friends on the feast of St. Lucia.  We’ll also be keeping all the special December feasts and holy days…

Wearing…blue jeans, maroon turtleneck and a navy Eddie Bauer sweater…

ReadingA Tale of Two Cities…for the umpty-eleventh time.  Just watched an amazing musical version and I just had to read it again…

Prayingthis novena.  You can find it on the sidebar.

HearingGregorian Advent by CantArte Regensburg and Hubert Velten.

Around the house…Advent wreath and greenery.  Nativities and the O Antiphon House.  Clearing space for a Christmas tree…eventually…

One of my favorite things…this season.  Hope…

Here’s a picture thought I am sharing with you

Sisters…Elizabeth and Clementine:

Blessings,