Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – December 14, 2009 – 3rd week of Advent…hurray!  The pink candle is lit…

Outside my Window….a not-so-cold, but infinitely dreary Monday morning.  Mist and rain, more the look of dusk, than dawn.  It’s good to be inside…

Thinking…about yesterday.  It was a lovely day.  The Feast of St. Lucia, celebrated by little girls singing and serving at dawn.  Rose colored vestments at Mass and another amazing homily.  A Christmas party with a visit from St. Nick and the Krampus, lighting the pink candle on the Advent wreath…lots of friends, family and fun…

Thankful for…Nyquil.  Looks like I’ve picked up some kind of virus.  Just in time for my consult with the ENT surgeon…

From the kitchen…Hot coffee, bagels and cream cheese.  Eggs, grits and toast.  For dinner:  I don’t know.  I’m totally uninspired and feeling completely ill.  I’ll have to get back with you on this one.  My meal planning has gone out the window for the last four days.  The kitchen painting catastrope has thrown me for a loop.

What?  You didn’t hear about it?  Oh, yes.  Well…picture this:  10 days of painting a kitchen that should’ve taken maybe 2 to 3 hours tops.  Fatigue and perfectionism are a deadly combination.  It only took a gallon of paint to finish the entire project…except for that one four foot swath of wall…thank heavens I had another gallon!  A few strokes and rolls here and there, and eureka!  The kitchen was done.  Jubilant, I went about my day trying to finish up other tasks that had been shelved during the kitchen project.  A few hours later I return and discover that the drying paint is a full shade darker than the current paint.  EEEK!  Trying hard to compose myself, I decide that I can probably get by with the one wall…I’ll simply repaint that wall, and the shade difference would most likely be imperceptible.  That’s when I notice the other wall.  With the big, drippy roller marks where sweet Charlotte attempted to try her own hand at painting.  And then I looked at the can of paint…satin, not flat like the original color…

To say that I “lost it” would be a bit of an understatement.  Let’s just say, I made a nice apology, went to confession, and I promise to be a good girl now…

So we’re back to square one.  The whole kitchen must be repainted and I just don’t have the energy to do it.  Seems the Lord is asking me to let go and let one of the other able bodies in this house take care of it!

Faith and learning…reading, crafting, baking…all the seasonal joys of Advent.  It’s almost time for the O Antiphons.  We have a few activities planned for this week in conjunction with them…

Creating…well…until I get over this awful virus, whatever  I can manage from the couch!

Planning…a visit to the ENT surgeon, pick up the CT scan and report.  A period of convalescence and healing…hopefully after Christmas, not before!

Wearing…hot pink fleece pajamas covered with cupcakes…

Reading…Holy Scripture.  That’s about it.

Praying…for a sick friends, for two friends who’ve recently given birth, for a pregnant mom that she continue her pregnancy safely, for my three adult children whom I miss greatly!

Hearing…the children talking over hot tea and breakfast…

Around the house…a Christmas tree nearly decorated, mantle decked in greenery, nativity sets and candles…the delightful scent of pine…

One of my favorite things…hot beverages and how they soothe a sore throat…

Here’s a picture thought I am sharing with you

This weekend we were visited by an enormous flock of wild turkeys.  I wasn’t able to get to the camera before they left and lamented that missed shot.  Then Gaudete Sunday…returning home from our parish Christmas party we spied a small flock of swans.  As lovely in flight as they are gliding upon the water.  Camera ready, I snapped a couple photos.  Not as close, nor as clear as I’d like, but lovely nonetheless:

Blessings,