Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – January 5th, 2010…Happy Birthday to me!

Outside my Window….Snow.  Ice.  More snow.  And then there’s the snow.  Did I mention snow?  Nothing like the blizzard the rest of the country received, just a constant and ongoing supply of the white stuff.  And blisteringly, freezing, frigid, icy-cold creeping in around the doors and windows.  We finally have propane but still must rely heavily on the kerosene heaters to achieve true warmth.  May God bless and protect the homeless and those suffering from these bitterly cold temperatures…

Thinking…about my upcoming surgery.  January 21st is the day.  A very long, very painful convalescence stretches before me and I’m preparing as best I can.  This website is both funny and informative…I’m taking a lot of his advice and looking forward to improved health in the future.

Thankful for…hot coffee and my Snuggie.  Yeah…Snuggie rocks!  Mine is this deliciously fluffy pink microfiber concoction.  A blanket with sleeves…who’da thunk?  It is the ultimate knitter’s companion!

From the kitchen…well…I forgot to get out the turkey last night.  Trying really hard to defrost it in time for dinner.  It may be a soup and sandwiches night after all!  C’est la vie…

Faith and learning…We start school next week.  And the children are anxious!  I need the rest of this week to clean and organize the classroom, file the first semester papers, etc. for a fresh start.  And pick up a few school supplies…

Creating…I’ve done quite a lot of knitting lately.  Since I’m no longer on medication for high blood pressure, I no longer have debilitating cramps in my hands.  Oh, yeah…forgot to tell you about that!  It appears that my doctor jumped the gun a bit on the blood pressure issue.  Looks like the obstructive nature of all the facial and tonsil swelling was responsible.  I’ve been weaned of the meds and my BP has been normal for sixty days.  Last night’s reading:  110/58.  Deo Gratias!

Planning…preparing a menu to freeze meals for my convalescence.  Hubby will be home for a few days afterwards and the children and I are going to work very hard to catch up on laundry and meal preparation…

Wearing…gray sweats, maroon turtleneck, polar fleece sweater.  And wool socks.  It’s c-c-c-cold.

Reading…Little snatches of Liberty and Tyranny.  From hubby’s night table…

Praying…for the poor and those facing the rigors of this brutal weather…

Hearing…the children playing “Legend of Zelda…”

Around the house…so much to be done.  The septic is unhappy and laundry washing is a slow affair because of it.  I really need to go to the laundry mat and just get it all done at once.  But that’s kind of expensive…so a slow load at a time is the best I can manage…

One of my favorite things…the joyful expression on the face of my 16 year old when he told me he finally hit the 6 foot mark.  My big guy…

Here’s a picture thought I am sharing with you

Blessings,