Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – February 5th, 2010

Outside my Window….a mad swirl of enormous white flakes.  Ten to twelve inches of snow in our forecast.  Oh, that this were two months earlier…I’m so ready for spring.  For daffodils and daisies.  For soft, green grass and the smell of the earth ready for planting.  It makes for a pretty picture, this blanket of white, hiding all that is dead and brown…and we have nowhere to go.  Once hubby is home, safe and sound, we’ll all be snug and content to be together.

Thinking…about love.  As we approach St. Valentine’s Day, I’ve been meditating more and more on what it means to be truly loving.  I’m praying that God will help me to continue to improve in this area, that all my actions be motivated by a true, unselfish, unconditional love…I’m surrounded by so much of it, I want to give more…this recovery has taken so much out of me, and I feel I’ve been on the receiving end more than the giving end, of late.  I’m hoping to improve that…

Thankful for…my sweet family.  For a husband that loves me and our children.  For every little improvement in my daily condition, since surgery.  On the material side…for my iPod Touch.  32 GBs of happiness!  For ibreviary, ipieta and Intuition.  For audiobooks and fairytales at the touch of a finger.  For WordPress blogging, from the comfort of my couch, at the touch of a finger…hubby and I rarely exchange gifts, reserving what we have for the children.  This gift has been such a blessing, particularly during my “downtime.” I can’t recommend it highly enough…

From the kitchen…Potato soup.  I have no motivation where food is concerned.  I’m dropping weight like mad…first, food was impossible to swallow.  Now…the taste is just horrible.  Everything, everything is sickeningly sweet.  It doesn’t matter what it is.  And I’m just not one for sweets.  Salt and crunch…that’s me.  This is dreadful and I’m praying that it is just a short term side effect.  In the meantime…I’ve lost 20 pounds in two weeks.  That says a lot…

Faith and learning…We’ve managed to get school done everyday.  Core subjects only, as mom is still mostly confined to the couch, but school nonetheless.  The little ones are progressing beautifully in the subjects that matter most.  I’d been quite concerned with my two youngest sons’ progress in spelling and writing.  Eliminating the other subjects for the past couple of weeks has made focusing on these subjects so much easier and they’re quickly improving in both areas.  I’d actually considered a paid tutor, but am pleased to see that concentrated effort is what is most needed.  And no distractions…

Creating…well…after weeks of very strong narcotics, I found it impossible to focus on the smallest task for than a few minutes.  I’ve been crocheting a bit more, because it’s so much easier to put aside, and I never use a pattern.  I’ve made two flapper hats, a pair of gauntlet gloves and a dolly dress.  I’m hoping to get back to my knitting.  I have two pairs of socks to finish and a host of other projects I’d love to begin.  Just trying to take things a day at a time…

Planning…to heal.  It’s slow, but it’s happening.  I’m sick right now…on top of the healing process, thanks to prednisone, I’m very prone to sickness.  So I’ve picked up a virus of some sort…it pleases the Lord for me to suffer, and since He very much wants me to get it right, looks like I get another opportunity!  Ah…to suffer well…that is an ongoing challenge for me…

Wearing…pink knit long-sleeved tee, gray sweat pants and socks.

ReadingHoly Mary, Mother of God…Help Of All Christians by Fr. John Kane.  A gift from a dear, dear friend whom I miss so very much.

Praying…that it becomes less and less painful to talk.  To swallow.  To breathe.  To eat.  That I will keep a spirit of gratitude for all the wonderful things that have occurred during this “down time…”  As the title of this post says, I’m “not-so-busy”…not because of laziness…I’ve been forced into retirement for a time and I’m trying desperately to not fight it.  I did try to plunge into all the housework as soon as my dear mother-in-law left on Wednesday…and paid for it dearly all night, and the next day and I believe I’m still paying a bit today.  So…I’m slowing down.  No…I’m stopping.  And delegating.  The children have been wonderful…I couldn’t ask for better.  May God bless them all…

Hearingmy children playing Legend of Zelda – Twilight Princess…school work is done and no one wants to play in the snow right now…

Around the house…septic is acting up again.  Laundry.  Looks like a trip to the laundrymat will be necessary unless these septic problems are addressed soon.  Lord…you seem to want me to grow in patience.  I’m trying…but it’s so, so hard…

One of my favorite things…pain medication.  At least for the past two weeks.  I can’t imagine how one would cope with this level of pain without it.  I’ve always been hesitant to take any kind of medication.  All I can say is “Deo Gratias!” for medical science and all the conveniences that save our lives and make us more comfortable during the healing process.  God bless all healers…

Here’s a picture thought I am sharing with you

A few shots from my sweet boy, Gareth who loves the camera:

In the yard:

In the house:

And all around us…

Snow, snow, snow…and much, much more to come!

Blessings,