Literally.

Snow drifts against the backdoor make it impossible to open…I’m so thankful for a teenage boy who will brave the 35 mph wind gusts and sub-freezing temperatures to shovel it away!

It’s so incredibly gusty and cold that I took these pictures from inside the house…my big guy lifted the screens so I could get a decent shot:

Our county is under a level 2 snow emergency.   The roads are nearly impassable, our driveway is invisible and the cars are buried…

Now…I love snow.  I have dreams about snow.  Every year, I ask God to send me snow for my birthday and I always, always get some…even if it’s just a couple flakes (it helps that my birthday is in January!)

But this…no…I don’t love this.  This is not a snowfall that we can enjoy…at least not today! Temperatures are crazy cold, gusts are creating drifts several feet deep and attending Mass on Sunday is beginning to seem unlikely.   We live in what meteorologists refer to as the I-70 corridor…just a few minutes outside of Franklin county, our weather can be markedly different at any given time of the year.  It seems the wind is always higher, snow falls faster and thicke, and it doesn’t take long for a minor weather situation to turn into a great big mess…

But it is pretty.  And we have nothing like what the east coast is getting slammed with once again…

So…once the wind dies down, the children will dig into those 4 to 6 foot drifts.  I foresee a village of igloos and snowmen.  Snow forts and tunnels.  And a very, very big snowball fight!

Right now, I’m thankful for electricity…we still have ours.  For stocked cabinets and a weekend to ‘dig out.’  Hubby is home, we’re all safe and we’re praying for the east coast as they are certainly facing a mess of historic proportions…

Blessings,