Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – February 22nd, 2010

Outside my Window….a light mist of rain, heavy fog obscuring the tree-line and melting snow.  Still a vast vista of white, but now it is taking on a dirtier, dingier hue.  Temperatures are climbing towards 40 and we are thankful for the respite…no matter how brief.  A bit of snow for Tuesday and Wednesday and then frigid air makes it way back in…oh, come Spring!

Thinking…about school.  We’re back full force now.  It’s been one month since my surgery, I’ve made peace with the suffering and now I just want to get down to business.   And so I have…

Thankful for…being homebound.   As nasty as the weather has been, it doesn’t seem such a deprivation any longer.  Spring is just around the corner.  We’re anticipating a March visit from the Grands and a weekend trip in April to attend the Midwest Homeschool Convention (we have tickets to see Tim Hawkins!!! Woohoo!)  We’ve been able to attend Adoration and Mass, as well.  Two of best reasons to be thankful…

From the kitchen…ah…it does pain me to no longer be able to give such an enthusiastic review of our menu.  I can no longer taste the food I’m preparing…we have appointed “tasters” so that mom can season appropriately.  The family assures me my cooking skills are intact, but I’m not so sure.  Nonetheless, chicken pie is on the menu this evening, salad, biscuits and peach crisp.

Faith and learning…back on track.  We’re back to our full schedule…though the children are feeling the strain of the increased load.  It’s rather like the first day of school all over again…

Creating…lesson plans for science and nature study.  Also making plans for Easter…menu and other celebratory aspects of the Great Feast.

Planning…school, school, school.  And school.  Housecleaning.  And laundry.  Laundry, laundry, laundry…

Wearing…blue jeans, turtleneck and pink cabled sweater.  No makeup, hair up in a twist.

ReadingJoy In Suffering, Happy Are You Poor (I highly recommend this!  It is helping me to clear up misconceptions about Evangelical Poverty…true and false forms.  My biggest shock:  Economy.  A review to come later…)

Praying…our “prayer board” is up and our nightly rosary is offered for friends and family whose names are drawn from the basket.  This is a long time practice, one which we all enjoy.  I’m also meditating upon Psalm 90, as recommended by an Institute priest.  “Take it line by line, day by day…” is his suggestion.  That’s what I’m doing…

Hearing…other than the children’s voices, silence.  No TV, videos, games or other distractions during the daylight hours of Lent.  It is a blessed, blessed relief…

Around the house…laundry.  The septic system…is…fixed…I think…hope…pray.  Yes…I write this tentatively.  How many times have we had this issue, felt that we resolved it, only to have it return.  So I’m cautiously optimistic.  And up to my eyeballs in laundry.  But, hey…at least we can all shower now, flush toilets, etc…never underestimate the value of indoor plumbing!

One of my favorite things…Lent.  I’m just that weird.  I like the purgation…I need it.  Every year, our Lord so graciously reveals just how very weak I am…and I need this revelation!  Painful, but necessary…rather like surgery!  But even the best surgeon in world cannot save your soul…time to let the Divine Surgeon do some serious cutting…

Here’s a picture thought I am sharing with you

Our Nature Table…we’re studying the Wild Birds of North America. We’ve had great fun putting together the display. And those realistic birds? Actual photos printed on cardstock, carefully cut out and hot glued to the “tree.” Gareth crafted the nest behind the Meadow Lark and the small nest in the tree was found last summer in the grass. We are will work on identification based on physical characteristics and birdsong, egg identification, anatomy, habitats, etc. Time to dust of the Audubon pocket guide!

Blessings,