Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – March 1st, 2010

Outside My Window: Slush and mud. Gray skies, light wind and a surprisingly mild 36 degrees. How I long for birdsong…for warmth and freshly plowed soil waiting to accept the seeds. Little green shoots are pushing their way through the snow…two or three weeks and we should have a riotous profusion of daffodils. Oh…how I need color…hurry, Spring!

I am Listening to: battle drums. The children are playing with the keyboard and it sounds like the Revolutionary War is about to begin…

I am wearing : black turtle neck, Columbia polar fleece jacket and jeans.

I am Thankful For: a great printer, the gift of creativity, recently reorganized pantry (thanks to my oldest son!) and the ability to see the light at the end of the tunnel after this long recovery…

I am Pondering: Psalm 90. This:

14 Because he hoped in me I will deliver him: I will protect him because he hath known my name. 15 He shall cry to me, and I will hear him: I am with him in tribulation, I will deliver him, and I will glorify him.

16 I will fill him with length of days; and I will shew him my salvation.

I am Reading: Same as last week: Happy Are You Poor – an illuminating reflection on true and false evangelical poverty. An important distinction: Evangelical poverty and destitution are not the same thing…

From the Kitchen: delightful scent of pot roast and root vegetables, with olive oil, garlic and thyme, simmering away in the crock pot. I love my crock pot! Homemade breadsticks, spinach salad and grapes to round out the meal.

I am Thinking: that there’s much to be done in preparation for the visit by the Grands. I so love it when my parents and grandmother come to visit. You can’t imagine all the fun we have…

I am Creating: little pockets of order, here and there. Thus far: Kitchen dish cabinet, pantry, working on buffet and soon to take master closet. Things have become so disordered as my health deteriorated. I’m hoping that all is back on track now and that as I continue to heal, I’ll also regain a bit of order around the home…hoping…

On my iPod: still loving iBreviary and iPieta…also found a delightful iRosary app. Digging the Faith and Family Live podcasts. My Pandora radio station set to Gregorian Chant, Coldplay, Mozart and Pink Floyd…how’s that for a combination? And then there’s the knitting applications…oh, my goodness! Thanks to my sweetie for this most amazing, most useful gift…

Towards a Real Education: the children are sick. All of them. We’re reading, playing, blowing noses, taking medication and drawing, coloring and crafting. I think that’s enough for a couple days, until everyone feels a bit better…

Towards Rhythm and Beauty: thank heaven for the Holy Season of Lent. We have very few distractions…nothing breaks your rhythm like distractions. As for beauty…alas, I’m having difficulty finding it. Everything seems so very dreary and dirty right now. These months of neglect are taking a toll. I need several paintbrushes and a few gallons of paint to freshen everything… I need color!

To Live the Liturgy: praying Lauds is such a great way to start the day…

I am Hoping and Praying: for friends that have recently moved away. May God bless the Smith and Pelicano families…may their journey be grace-filled…

In the Garden: last night hubby and I discussed: the superiority of a certain red potato, debated just how many pepper plants one family really needs, the possibility of procuring a pig, expanding the chicken flock and seed ordering in general. “Garden talk” inspires such hope…Springs is coming, isn’t it? Be still, my heart!

Around the House: way too much snow, a diminishing laundry pile, and a lot of sick children and one really tired mom…but happy. Oh, so happy…

On Keeping Home: still clearing out and will quite easily surpass the 40 bags in 40 days challenge. Thus far I have approximately 12 bags and several boxes ready to go…

One of My Favorite Things: the drip, drip, drip of melting snow. I noticed a few buds on a tree yesterday…definitely another “favorite thing…”

A Few Plans for the Rest of the Week: tend the sick, wash and fold the laundry, sneak out for a few hours with my hubby…and clean for the coming of the grandparents…

A Picture Thought I’m Sharing:

Once upon a time, in a faraway land, the sun shone brightly…and briefly:

Blessings,