Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – March 8th, 2010

Outside My Window: Fog and mist swirling, rising in the warming air…puddles from last evening’s shower.  Yes…a “shower” not snow, not ice, not sleet!  Daffodils, peonies and irises are springing from the cold, hard earth…praying that this warm spell will continue…

I am Listening to: a tousle-headed, sleepy-eyed six year old chatter away to a black and white kitty, nestled in her arms…

I am wearing : tan micro suede lounging pants, a black turtleneck and tan polar fleece sweater.  I’m not quite dressed for the day…

I am Thankful For: the improving health of the children.  A couple more days and I think all will be well.  Also thankful for an increase in energy.  Perhaps I’m healing…perhaps it’s the sun.  Perhaps, a bit of both!  Either way, I’m feeling better than I have in 7 weeks.  Much, much to be thankful for!

I am Pondering: marriage and the importance of communication and the difference between the way husbands and wives communicate.  I’ve been working on a piece on this topic…

I am Reading: the same stuff for the past three weeksin snatches!

From the Kitchen: the delicious, cinnamony aroma of sweet rolls.  Breakfast burritos and hot coffee for hubby…For dinner:  roast, carrot, onions and potatoes.  In the crockpot…mom is going to Ladies Night Out!  The first one I’ve attended since before my surgery.  I need a night out!

I am Thinking: about spring cleaning.  Ready to make lists and assign chores.  We did quite a bit this weekend, but there’s still much to be done…

I am Creating: I have so many projects I want to undertake.  I must create a project notebook.  I need to keep track of these many projects and work towards completion.  At present I’ve still not completed:  two pairs of socks, a giant afghan (I’m sooo close!), a sweater vest (it’s nearly Spring!  Who needs a sweater vest in the Spring?)  and a baby hat.  Want to complete:  two white capelets for my little ladies for Easter.  A lap blanket for my grandmother and a pair of socks for me.

On my iPod: The Biblical Stations of the Cross…while I appreciate that beauty of these biblical Stations, I think I still prefer the Traditional Stations.  Also:  Alice.com What a great application!  I can have my household cleaning supplies delivered to my door, saving gas, time and cutting down on unnecessary impulse purchases.  Pretty nifty!

Towards a Real Education: time to order assessment tests…that’s about as “real” as it gets in the state of Ohio…which is not nearly as bad as some other states.  I think they (assessment tests) are the most incredible waste of time and do nothing to truly assess the level of education that a child has received.  But we must please the state and it’s far quicker than making an appointment with a certified teacher, gathering portfolios and having her “sign off” on the children’s progress.   Assessments don’t assess the “real” they assess the “routine.”  Which is, after all, what matters to the state.  Sorry for the rant.  We take them, the children “ace” them and we’re clear for another year…c’est la vie!

Meanwhile, we educate.  Still studying the birds, getting ready for our planet reports, plugging away at core studies and going outside to brave the mud and slush and get back to nature…there’s our real education!

Towards Rhythm and Beauty: the children are marveling over the little strawberry plants that are popping up in their terra cotta pots.  My red geranium is blooming profusely.  As for rhythm:  I’m embracing my morning fitness routine.  I think I’m well enough…we’ll find out, won’t we?!

To Live the Liturgy: as much as I miss not being able to attend our parish Fish Fry and Friday Stations of the Cross, I’m so delighted with our own family Stations.  So solemn and reverent…the perfect end to a Friday night and the best way to prepare for the weekend.

I am Hoping and Praying: for all married couples…hang in there!

Grow old along with me!
The best is yet to be,
The last of life, for which the first was made:
Our times are in His hand
Who saith “A whole I planned,
Youth shows but half; trust God: see all, nor be afraid!”

Robert Browning (excerpt from Rabbi Ben Ezra)

In the Garden: I’m ordering seeds…today!  I’ve cleared the soil around the little daffodils that are springing up…removed leaves and debris from the herb box and like hubby, have happily paced the length and breadth of both the primary and kitchen gardens.  Joy, joy, joy…

Around the House: Melting snow…about half gone.  Sunshine and blue skies.  Birdsong and birdfeeders.  A family awakening from hibernation after a long winter’s “sleep…”

On Keeping Home: I’ve cleaned under the kitchen sink, hubby installed the most amazing new faucet and I’ve washed all the woodwork…no more dirty, smudgy fingerprints!  I’ve vacuumed the ceilings and corners…goodbye cobwebs and dust!  Still bagging up stuff to take to the thrift store.  Today’s project:  tackling the coat closet.  Eek!  It’s a disaster…

One of My Favorite Things: sunny, sunny sunshine!!

A Few Plans for the Rest of the Week: get outside as much as possible, soak up the sun and breathe in the fresh, fresh air!

A Picture Thought I’m Sharing:


The last “little” snowmen of the season…hopefully!

Blessings,