Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – March 15th, 2010

Outside My Window: a slate gray sky, but not a drop of rain.  Four days of dripping sky washed away all the snow…just a couple white patches along the fence row…I expect they’ll be gone soon.  The birds are singing…they don’t seem to care that it’s a mere 38 degrees with not much improvement expected today.  Still…joy!  Bits of green, here and there.  The earth is readying itself for the Feast of St. Patrick!

I am Listening to: silence…even those breakfasting are quite subdued…

I am wearing : plaid sleep pants, a black long-sleeved tee, rosy wool cardigan and socks.  It’s going to be a slowwww morning…

I am Thankful For: an expanding diet.  Though the really, really sweet taste remains, some foods that had been unpalatable are now tolerable!  Hurray!  I do wish they were more than just tolerable…but it does make for a more varied diet…and I can now force myself to drink a half cup of coffee in the morning.  Perhaps I was a bit premature in declaring my decaf status a “success!”  A half cup of coffee isn’t much, but it sure helps!

I am Pondering: hubby and I had such an interesting conversation about Pontius Pilate.

I’ve long prayed for Pilate…I want him to be saved.  I can’t imagine the torment of hearing, throughout Eternity, these words:

“Crucified under Pontius Pilate…”

Though there are not a few historians who condemn all of Pilate’s actions (Philo of Alexandria and Flavius Josephus most notably), many early Christians and Church historians (Tertullian and Eusebius to name a couple) and a few Saints (prominately St. Augustine) declared that Pilate was a convert to Christianity and later a missionary to the Emperor Tiberius whom he tried to convert:

Augustine suggested that Pilate not only recognized Jesus’ innocence, he also recognized his divinity—and converted to Christianity. Augustine compared Pilate with the magi, claiming that while the magi were the first to recognize Jesus’ divinity at his “rising,” or birth,b Pilate was the first to recognize his divinity at his “setting,” or death.7 By washing his hands of Jesus’ blood, Pilate was suggesting that Jesus’ blood would wash away our sins, Augustine wrote.

The fourth-century church historian Eusebius of Caesarea claimed that Pilate not only converted to Christianity but tried to convince the Roman emperor Tiberius to convert, too (see the second sidebar to this article). Tiberius didn’t abandon paganism, but, according to Eusebius, he was so impressed by Pilate’s account of Jesus’ wonders and resurrection that he urged the Roman Senate to add Jesus to the official pantheon. Furthermore, Tiberius threatened death to anyone who accused or attacked Christians.

Was Pilate converted?  I don’t know…but can hope and pray for the salvation of this man and all mankind who try to “wash their hands of innocent blood…”

I am Reading: Agustine’s Sermons, and once again delighting in Introduction to the Devout Life.  How many times have I read this amazing work?  I have no idea…

From the Kitchen: hot coffee and oatmeal…it’s a hot cereal kind of morning.  Leftover grilled chicken and ribs for dinner, rosemary and olive oil potatoes, salad and breadsticks…

I am Thinking: about a weak of feasts and fun.  Feasts:  St. Patrick’s Day and the Feast of St. Joseph.  Fun:  Hubby’s birthday on Saturday and the Grands’ visit.  Happy, happy, joy, joy…

I am Creating: crocheting two of the sweetest little cardigans!  The Chloe Cardigan will be just perfect for Spring!  And quite simple, too.  In two days of crocheting bits at a time, I’m 75% into the first one.  I think I’ll easily finish them in time for Easter…

On my iPod: loving this appRadio Maria! And thisCompline

Towards a Real Education: Just core this week…the Grandparents are coming, the Grandparents are coming!  I’m sure the children will have plenty educational opportunities while the “funnest people, ever!” are here…

Towards Rhythm and Beauty: Another four bags for the 40 bag challenge…the coat closet is now clean! 

To Live the Liturgy: Yesterday, we dressed Fr. Alder in his rose colored vestments…Laetare, Jerusalem!  Today…we’re back to violet.  This week we’ll celebrate St. Patrick and St. Joseph! And share those wonderful celebrations with our dear family…

I am Hoping and Praying: for the repose of the soul of Michael Early, the father of a dear friend, Lisa.  Would you pray, too?  Also, for all women who are pregnant or wish to become pregnant…

In the Garden: lots of little seeds under the growlights…oh, the potential!  We will have such a garden this year…and I believe we’re expanding the chicken flock and considering pasturing a pig out towards the wooded lot.  I love country living!

Around the House: lots of growing things, inside and out!

On Keeping Home: a fridge that needs to be cleaned, a guestroom prepared, menus tweaked and laundry to wash, fold and put away…

One of My Favorite Things: time alone with my hubby.  We’ve had a bit more of that, of late…thanks to my two wonderful teenage sons who manage things so beautifully.  They are growing into wonderful young men.

A Few Plans for the Rest of the Week: Fun, fun, fun!  Did I mention fun?  My parents are wonderful…

A Picture Thought I’m Sharing:

Spring chickens…check out that moat!  The house is surrounded.  The rain brought out so many earthworms, the chickens had a most bountiful feast.  I love chickens!

Blessings,