Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – April 5th, 2010

Outside My Window: Cloudy and mild.  Wet patches on the walkway from this morning’s thunderstorm.  I never thought waking up to thunder and lightning could bring such pleasure, but it does.  Each boom loudly proclaims:  Spring is here!  Spring is here!  Rejoice…Spring is here!

I am Listening to: the chatter of my dear son, Michael.  He’s always the first up and full of conversation.  He won’t mind me saying so!

I am wearing : Olive drab capris and a long sleeved t-shirt.  And an ankle brace.  Looks like surgery is on the horizon once again.  I have an accessory navicular.  Sounds intriguing, hmm?  Unfortunately, since my days as a gymnast (don’t laugh…I’m warning you!) it has plagued me nonstop.  Injury after injury.  A few good years in between…and then injury again.  Now constant pain.  The ankle brace helps, but it seems the only permanent solution is to just get rid of the thing.  Like those ugly tonsils, it’s not a friend, is unnecessary and a source of continued suffering.  And it is limiting my abilities to hike and have fun with my children.  But I HATE surgery.  I’m the poster kid for “whatever can go wrong, will go wrong…”  Lord…help me to be brave and just get it over with.

I am Thankful For: Easter.  For my Risen King.  For the beauty of the Mass, for the sweetness of my children, for the helpfulness and love of my husband, for the incredible meal we shared yesterday (that lamb was beyond amazing!), for the fun of the egg hunt and for the quiet evening that followed, for an early bedtime…

I am Reading: Re-reading Captains Courageous. A must read for every young man, and does a mother’s heart good to remember how these young boys want nothing more than the noble pursuit of manhood, clear-cut messages, and that spoiling a child is one of the worst forms of abuse…

From the Kitchen: Yummy-delicious leftovers.  That lamb is going to make the most delicious stew this evening!  I’ll be fighting off the children all day for the remainders of the strawberry trifle…there’s so much feasting left to do!  This morning, it’s hot coffee and sausage links with fresh-from-the-chicken eggs.

I am Thinking: that we’re blessed to not live according to the ways of the world.  Right now, the world is through with Easter.  We know that Easter has only just begun!  The Resurrection is to be lived everyday, in the here-and-now…yes…we are blessed…

I am Creating: a home where the message of Easter will be lived, as well as we are able, every day. 

On my iPod: I found a nifty application for teenagers studying for their permit/license.  My guy will love it…it’s called Drivers Ed

Towards a Real Education: Oh, the children…they are so devious!  They are lobbying intently for the cancellation of school since every day this week is a First Class Feast Day.  But we’ve had such laxity in our school days since the Grands visit.  So…core subjects today.  We’re working towards Summer break.  We either “pay now or pay later.”  I’d rather pay now…

Towards Rhythm and Beauty: Removing all the fresh flowers from the house.  “What?!!” you say?  “Aren’t flowers beautiful?”  Only if they don’t cause severe sinus headaches, coughing and sneezing in the allergy kid…so…goodbye daffodils…perhaps Zachary’s allergy symptoms will abate, soon!

To Live the Liturgy: Continue our celebration of Easter.  We’ve made our own Paschal Candle for the first time and it’s lovely to light it during our evening meal…

I am Hoping and Praying: Continuing our prayers for the Holy Father and the Church…and for those who continue to spread falsehood…“Thou shalt not bear false witness…”

In the Garden: A funny thing:  Several weeks ago, Abigail sprouted her own potato plant.  I’d often done this as a child, and thought she would enjoy seeing just how quickly this plant would grow.  She called it her “pet potato” and named it Jack.  Well…Jack grew and grew.  The plant was enormous!!  Eventually, however, the soil could no longer support Jack’s crazy growth, and the plant began to die.  Yesterday, we pulled Jack out of the pot she’d planted him in and lo!  Five lovely potatoes were clinging to his roots!  Abigail was ecstatic…she calls them his “babies!”  This is excellent preparation for digging potatoes this summer…

Around the House: Things are fairly tidy, despite yesterday’s revelry.  Laundry to wash, as usual.

On Keeping Home: Nothing special, just an observation:  I’m so thankful that my husband encourages all the activities and actions that I undertake to create an environment that is so distinctly Catholic and faith-filled.  We’re not attempting an Ethan Allen showcase home…just a home where our faith is apparent in all we do.

One of My Favorite Things:  Strawberries and Cream Trifle. I don’t use the sugar-free pudding mix…we avoid artificial sweeteners like the plague!

A Few Plans for the Rest of the Week: Relax, rejoice and rejuvenate…

A Picture Thought I’m Sharing:

Easter fun at home:

Blessings,