Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – April 19th, 2010

Outside My Window: A bright yellow sun in an electric blue sky…but it’s cold!  A chilly breeze is wafting the scent of lilacs…tomorrow promises a bit more warmth…

I am Listening to: the post-lunch crowd completing their lessons.  I love it when the boys assist the little girls in their schoolwork! Thus I have a bit of time for this post…

I am wearing : blue jeans, pale blue turtleneck and navy sweatshirt.  Yes…it is really that cold!

I am Thankful For: A hubby who spent the weekend painting my picnic table frame, repairing the brakes on the truck, building a ramp to the chicken coop for our six new chicks, mowing the yard, restringing my clothesline and planning my garden.  I accomplished very little compared to him!

I am Reading: Fatherless! My copy finally arrived!  And Simplicity Parenting…a very kind, very gentle and lovely book which affirms much of what we already embrace…

From the Kitchen: A delicious orange pound cake (baked by a friend!) with hot coffee for mom and dad.  My sweet hubby surprised me by beating me to the coffee pot this morning, preparing this sweet repast for just the two of us.  For lunch:  leftover grilled chicken on whole wheat bread.  For dinner:  Ribollita and homemade breadsticks.  Dessert:  the most amazing homemade banana pudding…at least what’s left of it from last night…yum, yum, yum!

I am Thinking: about the virtue of charity.  There’s been much discussion on the web regarding kindness and unkindness. About judging one’s neighbor and calling it a “christian” act.  Ultimately, it’s all about charity, or love, if you will.  I’m working a bit harder at looking at my own motives when questioning those of others.  Do I love the one whom I’m seeking to correct?  Is it my place?  Upon what do I base my decision?  Is it love or pride?  How do I best emulate Christ in this situation? Is my silence for my comfort and convenience, or is it a Christ-like embrace of the virtue of temperance and charity? Weighty questions worthy of deep reflection…

I am Creating: a play!  I’ve written a play (rather silly, but original!) for the children to celebrate the Feast of St. George.  Based on the Golden Legend of St. George and the Dragon.   We’re assembling the costumes and props and will begin our practice tomorrow.  This should be great fun and I promise to record it!

On my iPod: Faith and Family Live’s Greatness in our Teenagers podcast. I love FFL!

Towards a Real Education: Relaxing to smell the roses, pick the dandelions and make those memories with my young ones.  It’s over all too soon…

To Live the Liturgy: this Friday we’ll celebrate the Feast of St. George.  We’ll slay a dragon, read and color, drink tea and eat a lot of cake…

I am Hoping and Praying: for peace and charity in all conversations.  Let kindness prevail!

In the Garden: My herb beds are already nearly overflowing.  Mostly from my plants which successfully wintered over.  We have oregano, curly parsley, sage, rosemary, onion chives, stevia and peppermint.  To be planted:  basil, thyme, cilantro, dill and savory.

Around the House: nearly on top of the laundry.  The rest of the house is a bit untidy.  The master bedroom, however, remains in good order…

On Keeping Home: we’ve enjoyed our dandelion syrup so much that I’ve found a couple other nifty recipes:  this salad was delicious and these muffins look like worthy recipients of said dandelion syrup…I’ll let you know!

One of My Favorite Things: warm spring days.  Here’s hoping they return and soon!

A Few Plans for the Rest of the Week: practice on our play, encourage my hubby to work on the minivan (I’m desperate!  The creek is beckoning…) and continue to plug away at core subjects.

A Picture Thought I’m Sharing:

No thought…just a document.  Our St. George and the Dragon play:

Blessings,